New Year’s Eve 2011

As there was a good portion of 2011 that pretty much kicked my butt… about 80% of the last third of it immediately comes to mind… I had pretty much anticipated that I would greet this evening with a “whoohoo, don’t let the door hit you on the way out” kind of attitude.

What I am finding, however, is that I’m not feeling particularly celebratory or reflective.  I’m just kind of sipping wine and marking time.  I briefly considered the 10 sectors of my life and realized I pretty much tanked in all of them… physically, spiritually, financially, socially, etc., etc…. all pretty much need vast improvement.  And I’ve failed dismally at blogging this year.  It would seem I am ripe for some serious resolutions and goals here.

But this evening, I am content to just be.  I will try.  I know it’s important to think about these things.  But I don’t think I need the pressure of another holiday to come up with them.

And perhaps that is the start of doing 2012 on my terms.

Happy New Year, everyone.  May it hold much happiness and peace for each of you.  And with any luck at all, for me too.

4 Responses to “New Year’s Eve 2011”


  1. 1 Anonymous January 1, 2012 at 12:15 am

    Sounds good to me, SG! Happy New Year!

  2. 2 Christina Nowacki January 1, 2012 at 3:11 am

    I think you’ve gotten the point perfectly. Just be. On your terms.

    You could add the cliched One Day At A Time too – that’s a good one. Hell, I still follow that one more than 10 years now after my last major life upheaval.

    Hugs and Happy New Year!

  3. 3 Quadelle January 1, 2012 at 7:36 am

    Doing anything on your terms rather than ones dictated by outside societal pressures is generally a good thing.

    I’m reflecting, not because it’s a new year but because there’s been so much change and upheaval happening / coming up (moving house, problems with my thesis, oldest starting school soon) and I’m feeling pulled in so many directions that I feel the need to figure out what my priorities are.

    I hope when the time is right you’ll figure out yours, too. And remember you don’t need to tackle everything at once! 🙂

  4. 4 Robin January 2, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Sounds good to me. Happy New Year! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

