The Quilt

Because of the content of this post, I have been unable to tell this story here before Christmas.  I am delighted to be able to tell you now…

There are three farmer’s markets here in Charlottetown in the summer… one of which (the best one) falls on a day I always work, and the other two were new this past summer.  So when the two new markets opened, Rainbow and I were delighted to have this new opportunity to explore.

We set out for the first Friday market, just a block from our home, and Rainbow was immediately drawn to a table where a lady was selling raffle tickets.  First prize was a china cabinet, second was a quilt, third was a set of Paderno pots, and fourth was a tent.  She loved the quilt.  She talked to the lady selling the tickets briefly, and asked me to buy her one.  So, I offered up my toonie ($2 coin).

The next market the lady selling tickets was there again.  Again Rainbow went to the table to talk to the lady.  She asked for another ticket, and again I bought her one.  She asked that each time I see the lady, even if she wasn’t with me, that I buy her a ticket.  I agreed.

And so began a summer of ticket buying and decorative planning.  She picked paint chips that would match her dream quilt.  She picked accessories to go with her new decor.  She imagined what would happen if she won 1st prize and pondered whether the second prize winner would trade.

But, as fate is wont to do, the day of the draw came and went, and no call came.  Not for first, second, or any other prize in that raffle.  The dream faded, and life went on.

And life did go on.  Summer passed, and fall was nearly done as well.  November was not without its stresses, and it seemed there was little that could rekindle my spirits at times.  And then the phone rang.

The caller introduced herself as Mrs. R.  She said she was the lady selling tickets on a quilt this past summer.  She was very disappointed that Rainbow didn’t win the quilt, so she was making her one for a Christmas surprise.  She tried to find very similar fabrics, and thought it was pretty close.

A perfect stranger was using her time and resources to make my child’s dream a reality.  I was touched beyond words that there was such kindness in the world.

When Christmas day arrived it was probably the most joyful spot in her her morning.

And, of course, owning the most perfect quilt in the world has the added bonus that each morning one’s bed must be made and admired 🙂

Merry Christmas my lovely blog friends.  I hope your dreams came true too.  And I hope to be here more in the near future.

10 Responses to “The Quilt”


  1. 1 Anne December 29, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    What was Rainbow’s reaction to the quilt?

  2. 2 Quadelle December 29, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    That is beautiful. The quilt, the lady, everything.

  3. 3 Calvin December 29, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    Awesome story! Thank you for sharing it!

  4. 4 LSM December 29, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    I’m convinced that on the whole people are good and care about each other. It’s stories like this that keep me believing!

  5. 5 Christina December 29, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    I just love this story! And it is a most beautiful quilt.

  6. 6 kris December 31, 2010 at 2:07 am

    That is the best and sweetest story of human kindness and generosity I have read in quite a while.

    That is just beyond lovely.

    Happy sighs.

  7. 8 Robin January 1, 2011 at 9:26 am

    Beautiful story to go with a beautiful quilt. I bet this is a gift Rainbow will never forget. 🙂

  8. 9 Lauri January 1, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Wow! That is so great!


  1. 1 Tweets that mention The Quilt « Old Blue Socks -- Topsy.com Trackback on December 29, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

