Another trip around the sun

If there are two things we are about here in the House of Sock, it is cake and wishes.  As a result, birthdays, regardless of how the honouree may feel about being another year older, are always marked with sweets and candles.

Yesterday was my birthday.

True to tradition, my family picked me out a lovely cake and carefully lit a few candles.  They dimmed the lights and brought me out my flaming treat.  “Make a wish!” Rainbow declared…

And then it happened…

In that very moment, for probably the first time ever in my life, I had nothing to wish for.  How could I be so unprepared for something I knew was coming?!  This is the pivotal wishing opportunity of the year!!! My mind quickly browsed the list which has seemed forever engrained in the front of my mind…  A job for the next little while? – check.  Feeling fine? – check.  Kids ok? – check.  I was, to my very surprise, at peace in that moment.

So I closed my eyes, and whispered in my heart “may they live happily ever after” and blew out my candles…

Of course, now looking back on it… I realize I never did get that pony I wanted from childhood.  Maybe next year.

4 Responses to “Another trip around the sun”


  1. 1 Linda November 19, 2010 at 6:51 am

    You are a Scorpio [scorpio horoscope ] and you are so blessed and lucky to have an amazing and wonderful people around you who also made your birthday even extra more special. That’s the most important above all!

  2. 2 Susanne November 19, 2010 at 10:20 am

    That brought tears to my eyes… you – all of you – deserve a lot of happily ever after. May it find you in abundance.

    Happy Birthday!

  3. 3 Christina November 19, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Knowing the last few years you’ve had – it makes me bery happy to know that YOU are happy. So glad you had a wonderful birthday!

  4. 4 Quadelle December 9, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Happy belated birthday! (Yes, very belatedly as I’m so far behind in reading blogs I’ll be reading Christmas posts in June.) This made me a wee bit teary in the best way. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

