Saturday

For years I have had a part-time Saturday job.  Lately, this has expanded to some work at home tasks as well.  But, if I may dwell on Saturdays for a moment, with the exception of taking an occasional Saturday off for a wedding or taekwondo test, my Saturday days have been largely spent working.  For years.

So, with a two week waiting period required for Employment Insurance, and with every penny earned during that two week waiting period deducted from the applicant, I have decided to take two unpaid weekends off.  With no wedding to attend.  And no taekwondo test to attend (at least for the first Saturday of the two).  Yesterday was a Saturday for me.  Kind of.

I took Rainbow to her music lesson… for the first time ever.  (I had never met her teacher before.  He looked to be about 12 years old).

Rainbow and I went to the bustling Farmer’s Market together… for the first time ever.  (We browsed, we shared a smoothie, and I had some fresh perogies).

We went home and salvaged what remained of our outdoor wicker furniture, scraped off the loose paint, and applied a fresh coat of white.

I cleaned the window sills and opened all the windows in the house.

I scrubbed the floors.

Rainbow skipped and we hula hooped together.  (I used one hoop, she used four).

We curled up under a blanket and leafed through a magazine on the deck.

And by the end of my Saturday I was more tired than if I had worked. But I was happy and relaxed.

Now, this does not mean I will be giving up my working Saturdays any time soon… I’m not entirely in a position to do that… but, presuming a job does not fall from the sky at any speedy pace, it does bring a sort of peace that being unemployed in the summer with my kids is fine.

I’m writing this outside on my deck.  I’ve never taken my computer on the deck before.  I’m even considering maybe setting up a separate “Summer with Sockie” blog to chronicle any fun projects and adventures we may have.  Maybe I’ll just blog here more.

This weekend I am having a weekend.  A full, busy, family-filled holiday weekend.  I hope yours is special too.

2 Responses to “Saturday”


  1. 1 Marcia May 23, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    I hope you enjoy your summer and do blog more, because I enjoy reading it!

  2. 2 Annah May 28, 2010 at 11:38 am

    I so feel you on the working on the Saturdays…. adulthood 😦 it has its downfalls.

    http://whenredmeansgo.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

