A Sunday Project

One of the things I love about making bread is that it is a project.  Like gingerbread, or things of that nature, it has a process, and steps, and it can wile away an afternoon fairly easily with a yummy treat at the end.

But I’ve become somewhat dissatisfied with my old bread recipe… an old one from a cookbook put out by a flour company years ago.  And I’ve been in search of one which would yield fluffier, more delicate bread.  The project-nature of bread making, however, makes trying just any old recipe unlikely though.  It’s not something I’d just google.  I’d far prefer to venture the next project with a recipe that is more tried and true and trusted.

Recently while reading blogs, Wendy at The Whole Way lead me over to Liz at Maritime Penny Pincher — and what did my happy heart see, but a bread recipe, with pictures, and a contest to boot.  Liz challenges readers to bake her recipe (or send in your own), tell her about the story, and send pictures for a chance to win a recipe book from our lovely province.  So on Sunday, Rainbow and I set out on our new bread project.

The recipe makes three loaves, so we did one regular and two cinnamon breads.  Essentially, for the cinnamon bread, before the second rising we rolled out the regular dough into a rectangle, buttered the dough, sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, then rolled it up and tossed it in the greased baking pan.  In retrospect, we probably should have rolled it a teensy bit thinner, or made the cinnamon a teensy bit thicker, but it still is quite tastey, and will most likely be made again in the near future.

Yummm.

Do you have “projects” that could wile away a Sunday afternoon?  Any tips for the perfect delicate bread?  I’d love to hear about them.

5 Responses to “A Sunday Project”


  1. 1 Robin January 12, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    That looks yummy! Especially the cinnamon bread, something I haven’t had in a long time.

    I’m afraid all of my current while-away a Sunday afternoon projects aren’t as yummy (or as fun) as baking bread.

  2. 2 Marcia January 13, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    This looks delicious…..I might see a Sunday afternoon project in my own future!

  3. 3 Quadelle January 16, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Looks delicious. I would love to have a Sunday afternoon to while away. I used to have them almost every week. Now, too busy with endless lists of things desperately needing doing.

  4. 4 Wendy January 23, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Congrats on the win OBS! Your cinnamon bread looks fantastic!


  1. 1 Getting Lucky « Old Blue Socks Trackback on January 22, 2010 at 12:49 pm

Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

