A late breaking resolution

I have begun to dream that I was hospitalized for drinking too much coffee.  I would wake up realizing it was just a dream, but subconsciously I knew that one part was true.  I really do over indulge in cafeinney goodness more often than I should.  And in the back of my mind I wondered, was my body trying to tell me something?

Then Tuesday I was working away at my temp job… it had taken about a day and a half to get my computer system up and running again… and I still had no phone… so as I was strolling though a cubby on the way to use a phone… and the very full, very large, very new coffee treat I had just purchased splattered out of my hand, crashing to the floor… just at the entry of my supervisor’s cubby.  The supervisor of my temporary job.  Lovely.  Then not two days later… the day after they had to get that now coffee-stained carpet steam cleaned… I did the exact same thing all over the staff kitchen.  For those keeping track, that is two very full, very large, very new coffees in three short days.  More than one person suggested I start using a sippy cup.  Including my supervisor.

I was more than happy then, that Thursday evening, to finally get home and change out of my coffee splattered work clothes and get into my dobok for taekwondo class.  Fresh clothes and a reason to re-focus.  I chatted with other parents as we watched the kids’ class.  And then it was time for my warm up.  And I noticed it.  Every time we stretched… and my face got closer to my own skin… I could smell coffee.  Stretch up, stretch down, smell coffee.  Feet straight out, feet pulled in, smell coffee.  The last spill of the day had apparently permeated my skin.  I may not have been very ninja like, but I was cafeinney goodness.

I knew then, it was time to cut back.

So, since Friday morning, I have been very very careful not to go too crazy on the coffee.  Just a regular sized cup or two through the day (which, to be honest, is about what I used to drink before I even left the house).  The rest of the time I’ve been drinking herbal tea, or hot water, or something other than coffee.

And ya’ know what?

I feel like crap.

I know it will take time.  I know that I will get grouchy.  But I also know that I need to do this.

I, Sock Girl, officially resolve to cut back significantly on coffee.  And, to reward my new efforts, I splurged on this:

Some may call it a snazzy little travel mug.  Some may call it a sippy cup.  I like to think of it as Spilly Pants Warranty. A little peace of mind for the perpetually clumsy.

2 Responses to “A late breaking resolution”


  1. 1 Calvin January 10, 2010 at 11:03 am

    You can do it Sock Girl!

  2. 2 Marcia January 10, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    I switched to decaf years ago. Still drink several cups, but its decaf. Same with soda….we rarely buy it anymore, but when we do its the decaf version. I can really tell when I do drink the “real” stuff now—-I feel jittery, on edge and have trouble sleeping.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

