Happy New Year

As much as I am waving madly to 2009, happy that the year is now memory, have to say it did not entirely suck.  Yes, I realize that I am probably the worse resolution keeper in the history of ever – I have not accomplished better blogging, more creativity, or managed to acquire job security –and while it certainly ended with a heaping helping of stress (see last post) – 2009 did have its moments worth holding close in the heart… beautiful, spectacular moments worth savouring…

– I officially joined my kid’s taekwondo school and got my yellow belt in December.  (I was the only adult in my test class).  I also still stink at it, but meh…  Ya’ gotta start somewhere.

– I got temporary work in a wonderful, wonderful place.  And I get to go back for a while in just a few days.

– I started using twitter, and it resulted in my finding lots of interesting and wonderful people, and in my having coffee and ice cream with the lovely and talented Crib Chronicles.

– My kids used food colouring and dyed the dog’s face red and green for Christmas.  Now this, on the surface, may not seem entirely all that celebratory, but to me, who aspires to feed creativity, the fact that they are now 9 and 13 and are still up to stuff like that sort of does put a smile on my face (albeit secretly).

– I got a new dryer.  And it still puts a silly grin on my face.

So, fare-thee-well 2009.  Entering 2010, I still feel like my life is a work in progress… like I’m still redefining things… but I am not one to dwell on unmet resolutions and negativity on New Year’s day.  So despite my terrible track record with resolutions, here is my list of “areas of focus” for this year (some of which is just carried over from last year but we won’t talk about that):

  • This blog… I would like to write a minimum of 100 posts in 2010.
  • Creativity… I also want to carve out the time to explore fictional thought.
  • Work… I want to feel way more security than I currently do.
  • Spirit… I want to keep focussing on gratitude and joyfulness.

To my blog readers, I want to thank you for dropping by and being a part of my life.  From the bottom of my heart I wish you all peace and happiness in 2010.

6 Responses to “Happy New Year”


  1. 1 LSM January 1, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    Happy New Year! Your resolutions sound great.

  2. 2 Robin January 2, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Happy New Year, Sock Girl! I think those are wonderful resolutions. 🙂

  3. 4 Janet January 3, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Sounds like a plan!!! Happy New Year!

  4. 5 Lauri January 6, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Happy New Year, and best of luck with all your plans!

  5. 6 Quadelle January 16, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Happy (belated) New Year! All the best with your resolutions. I’m glad there was some good mixed in with the not so hot for 2009. Here’s to 2010 being better all around.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

