It’s begining to look a lot like Christmas

…except for the complete lack of snow

…and unseasonally warm temperatures

…and the lack of any decorations of any kind around here except for the tree.

OK… maybe it’s begining to look a little like Christmas.  But today I went to the local Santa Claus parade with Rainbow so it’s begining to feel a lot like Christmas.  I wanted to take pictures for you, but Dolittle had apparently already “borrowed” my camera.  Apparently accidentally.  So I’ll just have to tell you about it…

I was struck by how, in that one small corner where I sat snuggled in a blanket with my daughter, it felt like hope.  Neighbours huddled together in groups laughing, the collection of letters to Santa, shining smiling faces waved to the crowd calling out to neighbours they knew, and shining smiling faces waved back.  The parade was a collection of things people cared about: firefighters, veterans, churches, sports teams, causes (SADD, Humane Society, etc.).  The dogs dressed up for Christmas, the Santa hats, the ten million times I heard Feliz Navidad (sometimes sung badly, but always sung with heart)… it was a joyful lift.  For that hour or so, I felt connected to my community rather than isolated in my own life meanderings.

Honestly, I originally was not that enthused at the idea of going.  But now, I feel like the season is here.  Santa is in town, people.  He knows if we’re good or bad.  Let the games begin.

1 Response to “It’s begining to look a lot like Christmas”


  1. 1 Quadelle November 29, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Feeling connected to community is the perfect way to start the Christmas season, I reckon. The parade sounds rather lovely.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

