Mom Code

Can the Moms Who Rock award go to a mom who doesn’t blog?

Dolittle and her friends were up in her room getting ready for a youth dance.  These events are apparently extremely important, judging from the care and time put into achieving just the right look.

I was down in the kitchen making spaghetti for dinner when the phone rang and a woman’s voice asked if I was Dolittle’s mom.  Then she asked if her daughter was here.

Friend’s mom explained that her daughter had been expelled from school that day for not turning in her assignments, that her daughter was grounded, that her daughter clearly didn’t know that meant she couldn’t go to the dance, and that her daughter had made her bed to look like she was in it then gone to our house as obviously I knew nothing of any of this.

“She is not a bad kid,” the mother said.  And I reassured her that I knew that.  I fully understand that sometimes good people make bad choices.  Especially when that good person is 13 years old, and figuring out who they are.

Then the mother said, “if you’re not comfortable telling her she is grounded and can’t go, I understand.”  Maybe she said that for levity.  Because if it was my daughter I know I sure wouldn’t appreciate someone driving her where I hadn’t allowed her to go.  What’s more I completely understand the importance in following through with what one says.  Alto2’s earlier post this week on that matter was fresh in my mind. “I think there’s a Mom Code,” I reassured Friend’s Mom.

So, after dinner I called Friend aside privately and told her that I had spoken to her mother, that I knew she was grounded, and that I would be driving her home rather than the dance.  There were phone calls.  There were tears.  And hopefully there were lessons learned.

And, I would like to add here that I am extremely grateful to bloggers like Alto2 who share their parenting experiences so freely, as I realized tonight I continually draw on experience beyond my own.  That is such a gift as both a parent and a person.  Thank you.

2 Responses to “Mom Code”


  1. 1 Quadelle November 22, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Now there’s an awkward situation. Good to see Mom’s working together! 🙂

  2. 2 Alto2 November 22, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Of course you can award a Rock to the friend’s mom. There was no specification that the mom had to be a blogger, too. It’s just that it’s easier to pass on kudos to blogging moms in an open forum.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

