Modest Makeover

I was sitting at work yesterday and glanced down at my shoes.  There was a large, noticable scuff mark on the toe of one black pump.  The other showed wear around the foot.  I was reminded of all the job interview tips I had read that warned of being sure to wear clean polished footwear as attire was so important to first impressions.  If someone were to interview me based on my footwear today they would either think “dang, that girl needs a job!” or “ewww, with scuff marks like those she is obviously somewhat sketchy!”   I picked up my black sharpie marker and coloured in the scuffs.  While there are no interviews currently pending, it is probably better safe than sorry.

I am currently feeling the serious need for a makeover, but acknowledge that even if I had the resources this is not the time of year I am likely to indulge on myself.   But soooo much needs upgrading… hair, makeup, clothes… head to foot.

So my question is this… if you could treat yourself to one makeover indulgence – like a hair cut, manicure, new shirt, new shoes, new black sharpie (ha!) etc – what one modest treat would bring you the maximum psychological lift?

7 Responses to “Modest Makeover”


  1. 1 mimi November 17, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Hair cut, color, and highlights. That always makes me feel so much better when I’m feeling frumpy!

    • 2 Quadelle November 17, 2009 at 10:33 am

      Since new glasses aren’t really a “modest” makeover, I’ll go with being shown how to do makeup & getting a few makeup bits that would help me look more polished.

  2. 3 Omar Upegui R. November 17, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I don’t know if this fall into the category of a “modest makeover”, but I feel a real need for a new digital camera. I hope Santa reads your blog. 🙂

  3. 4 Doc Thelma November 17, 2009 at 11:40 am

    For me, it’s pedicures and/or manicures. Especially pedicures. Long polish nails aren’t practical for lab work, but with my toes I can feel great when they are polished up and painted some bright, beautiful color. Even when they’re covered up with shoes in cool weather, I feel like I have that little indulgence hidden away. Plus, there’s something about sitting in a vibrating chair having someone else work on your feet that makes you feel pampered.

  4. 5 LSM November 17, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    Indulging in a new piece of clothing or pair of shoes typically does it for me. I justify it in that I don’t color my hair, pay for expensive cuts (yes, I do get it cut, it’s just at a reasonable cost), or have artificial nails. Think of all the money I’m saving!

  5. 6 Behind.The.At November 19, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Massage, baby, Massage! I know, I know, no one else will see the results, but the makeover should be for you, right? Have you ever tried Thai massage? AMAZING!

    Or, to me, the ultimate indulgence is a facial, but I’m too darned cheap to go for those. But not the haircut…there’s just too much risk involved, and it feels more like upkeep than a makeover.

  6. 7 Alto2 November 22, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    While I firmly believe massage makes a woman a better mom, the biggest lift for the loonie will be a new hairdo. Go for it, Sock-babe!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

