On Veterans

Before my brother joined the military, I don’t know that Remembrance Day had the same effect on me as it does now.  I mean, I would wear my poppy, recognize the moments of silence, and understand there was a huge sacrifice, and yes, I was grateful, of course.  But when my brother was deployed to Afghanistan, veterans had a face… protectors had a face… sacrifice had a face… and it was the face of someone I love dearly.  And now, O Canada makes me teary.  Our flag makes me teary.  And Remembrance Day makes me teary.  The hugeness of how much they sacrificed moves me… they left behind families, and communities, and livelihoods to endure the horrors of war, and gave their lives so we can be free.  And I am so, so thankful.

To those currently serving, I wish you safety.  And I wish you peace.

 

1 Response to “On Veterans”


  1. 1 Quadelle November 12, 2009 at 7:39 am

    You’re making me teary.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

