Happy Birthday Sesame Street

Today is the 40th anniversary of Sesame Street’s first show.  I’m not sure what year we started getting it, but I was in school so could only see it if I was sick or it was a holiday or something.   I wanted to take a moment today to recognize the grand achievements of this show and mention how grateful I am that it exists, that muppets exist.  Because the world would be a happier and more fun place if people channelled their inner muppet a bit more often.

And I wanted to show you one of my favourite clips… of Kermit and a little girl called Joey counting to 20… because I think it shows why the show was so magic… child and muppet interacting like muppet was human, muppet as teacher/helper, and a dallop of cuteness too.  It is a wonderful combination of education and imagination.

How Joey treats her little muppet companion as if he is as real as the kid next door and even attempts to distract him makes me smile every time.

So… I think we need some cookies around here.  Shouldn’t any muppetational celebration involve cookies?

Happy Birthday Sesame Street.

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday Sesame Street”


  1. 1 Squib November 11, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Sesame Street is 3 months older than I am so my childhood is full of Sesame Street memories. One my dad took me shopping and he got me a paperdoll kit of Bert and Ernie with a cardboard set up of their apartment. I loved that thing I was about 4 years old. I loved Bert and Ernie. 🙂

  2. 2 Quadelle November 11, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Gorgeous! I love how she keeps reaching out to touch him.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

