Fear and Self-Fulfilling Prophecy

There is no question that I have a deep seated fear of unemployment, and that the pending end date on my current job weigh heavy on my mind.  It flashes through my mind at least 100 times, even for a second, the thought:  you will be unemployed again at Christmas.  And I feel a little sick inside as fear momentarily overtakes me.

But the rational part of me knows that everything will be ok… that I have found enough weeks of employment that I will qualify for unemployment benefits to help keep us floating for a time… that maybe, just maybe, the job I’m meant to find will emerge somewhere, somehow.

But some days I have more fearful thoughts about the matter than rational ones.  It truly never leaves my mind for very long.

And now I wonder if that might be part of the problem.  If, as many of those consultants who teach manifesting one’s ideal life might suggest, we are focussed on the negative, how can we bring ourselves the positive?  Am I so fearful that this could become self-fulfilling?

So I think I need to do some work to turn this mental train around.  While it may not bring me the job I need, it will certainly alleviate the stress I feel.  I need to:

  1. Live in the now.  When I hear that little voice in my head say, “December 16th is coming, get your fear on,” I need to shoo it away and say, “Today I have a job and I am darn grateful.”
  2. Recognize my own strengths.  I truly lack confidence.  While I mask it, this entire experience of joblessness and job hunting has left me feeling battered, betrayed and incompetent.  And I have to recognize that this is the result of other people’s projections and behaviours and not reality.  I need to recall what I excel at and celebrate that.
  3. I need to visualize what I want and hold that in my head.  I might even make myself a vision board.

So that is one of my goals for the rest of this month.  To let it go, and make that the habit instead of the fear.

Thanks for listening.

3 Responses to “Fear and Self-Fulfilling Prophecy”


  1. 1 mimi November 8, 2009 at 10:52 am

    A friend of mine made a vision board four years ago. She had just left her alcoholic husband and was barely making ends meet. She made a vision board of a successful career, a beautiful new home, and a happy family. This week she is traveling to California for a convention due to her great new career and is moving into her beautiful house that she bought herself at the end of this month. She says it’s all due to keeping that vision in front of her and staying positive. 🙂

  2. 2 Alto2 November 8, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    A vision board sounds like a powerful tool. I like it.

    Another thing you might consider is prayer or meditation. Something to send powerful positive energy out into the universe so that it might come back to you. A few words uttered to your angels before bedtime or first thing in the morning can do a lot to boost your spirits.

  3. 3 Bon November 8, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    i hadn`t heard of a vision board. it sounds like i could use one.

    i will say that i`m noticing, personally, that one of the side-effects of years of contract work is that it becomes increasingly difficult to see experience building on itself, to project a positive growth arc. instead i find myself shocked to notice that ten years have gone by while i`ve done a series of jobs in which i`ve built skills but have not significantly built any evident body of work. and i wonder, huh. how`d that happen?


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

