Pearls – a blog challenge

Tonight’s warmup in family taekwondo class was led by the instructor’s young (pre-teen) daughter, a black stripe (which is the belt before black).  Now typically, when her father does the warm up, it starts with general loosening up, then some more vigorous activities like laps &/or jumping &/or kicking, then there is a longer session of stretching once we’re all warm.  During the final stretching he usually discusses some aspect of stretching, tells some story about when he was training, or perhaps mentions some sport related thing coming up.

So tonight we go though the light stretch, do some laps and kicks and lunges, and we sit on the floor to begin the longer stretch portion.  The wife of our main intructor says to her daughter, “This is where you give us pearls of wisdom.” “Yes!” I add, “tell us a story.”

Our young leader paused.  “I don’t have any pearls of wisdom,” she stated, “because none of my grandparents are very old.”

This strikes me very funny… that wisdom can only be passed on from the elderly.  Now, that is not to say that we don’t have a huge amount to learn from our elders, because quite obviously we do, but I think wisdom can come from a great many places.  Of course, at the moment, I’m drawing a blank, but I’m sure it’s true.

So this week’s blog challenge, and I welcome you to join me, is to come up with 5 things you have learned from someone young (like a child or teenager).  If you post your response on your blog, drop me a comment and tell me where to look.

6 Responses to “Pearls – a blog challenge”


  1. 1 Robin November 5, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Interesting challenge. I’ll see what I can do with it.

  2. 2 fillforsix November 5, 2009 at 11:33 am

    It’s kind of an old post – but over at my blog you can check out the post called “Six.” It talks about the wisdom that often comes out of my son’s mouth. I look forward to reading any other posts that meet the challenge!

  3. 4 Alto2 November 7, 2009 at 12:01 am

    Asked and answered. Take a look at .


  1. 1 Pearls – Response « Old Blue Socks Trackback on November 8, 2009 at 9:45 am

Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

