How do you spell relief?

Hello.  My name is Sock Girl.  And I get migraines.

It is now official.  Today I finally had my appointment with a neurologist and he confirmed the diagnosis I have long suspected.  Migraines.  And he provided the reassurance the the right peripheral blindness that I experience a few days before onset is not an uncommon symptom (though its timing is not as usual).  You have no idea how comforting it was to hear that inexplicably and periodically losing a portion of one’s vision had a reason that could be dealt with.  It’s been a very disconcerting thing.  There is still the matter of a CAT scan just to be sue, but I am now far more relaxed than I was previously.

So, for those who may suffer migraines also, this is my plan of action.

  1. Wait for the CAT scan referral.  Hopefully that will not take nearly as long as the appointment to see the doctor.
  2. Visit these websites (recommended by the neurologist) to learn more about migraines and their triggers (all will open in  a new window):
  3. Start a headache journal to attempt to figure out triggers. (Something like this one, I think)
  4. Start using medication to stop the headaches in their tracks before they get to the point where I no longer function (something no other doctor had ever prescribed for me).

So, tonight I am feeling calmer than I have in a long time.  I feel a little more in control of my head.

It was a good day.

4 Responses to “How do you spell relief?”


  1. 1 Quadelle November 3, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Bummer that you have them, but a relief to know at last.

    My husband has started getting them the last few years (since we had kids – go figure). The vision thing is definitely the part that has freaked us out. Thanks for sharing all the handy links.

  2. 2 lewis1212 November 3, 2009 at 9:06 am

    I’m sorry you have migraines but am glad you at least have an answer and a plan of action. Hopefully the medication and knowing what triggers to avoid will improve your quality of life significantly. I have never had a migraine headache (knock wood) but I do occasionally get visual (ocular) migraines…..no pain but significant visual distortion—-my field of vision becomes zig-zagged and distorted, and it usually starts in the periphery and works its way inward.

  3. 3 Doc Thelma November 3, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    At least you have a diagnosis… the worst is not knowing, Best of luck determining triggers and treatment.

  4. 4 Alto2 November 3, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    I understand chocolate can be a trigger. Feel better.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

