Tales of Spinning and Spinning Tales

Am I spinning too fast?  I’m spinning, there is no question… every waking moment seems to be filled with some activity, or crisis aversion, or preparation to avoid future crisis.  I am the preparer of sustenance, nagger of homework, social and sporting chauffeur, labourer of laundry, shepherd of hygiene, soother of booboos, purveyor of discipline, finder of lost things, unclogger/unplugger/untangler/unwhateverer… Apparently what I am not these days is a reader of books and writer of blogs.  There has been no time.

I need that time.

This thinking is, of course, exasperated by the fact that November looms, and with it the two Nano challenges…

First, NaBloPoMo… National Blog Posting Month…. A post a day for thirty days.  I have tried this for the last few Novembers, and some years actually managed to pull it off.  Can’t say the content was top notch, but it was there.

The other is NaNoWriMo… National Novel Writing Month… A 50,000 word novel in 30 days… I have tried this twice, and failed dismally both times.  Each year I think I’ll have a larger plan for my characters before November 1st, and each year I enter with no clue where the story eventually goes, and invariably where it goes is down the tubes.  This year, however, a character from a kid’s (unpublished and rarely submitted) story I wrote when my own children were little has been popping into my head advising me that his tale is much much bigger than I originally told it.  Dare I go down the road again?  And how do I do all this with all the life spinning going on?

Perhaps I will spin myself silly.

So my dear blog friends, what do you think of these crazy notions.  Am I just so punchy from tiredness that I am actually considering these?  And would any of you jump into these spinny games with me?

8 Responses to “Tales of Spinning and Spinning Tales”


  1. 1 Christina October 28, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    I wont jump in with you BUT, I think sometimes these things are not so crazy to jump into really. Much of what is making you all spinny are things you do for other people. This challenge is something that sparks your creative juices and probably feels very good to wade into. I firmly believe from my own blogging experience that getting those things out of your head help you focus on all the other stuff with more clarity.

    Whatever you decide to do – good luck and DO have fun with it!

  2. 2 Robin October 29, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    I’m jumping into NaBloPoMo. I don’t think I’m up to writing a novel, even though I seriously consider it each year.

    Good luck. 🙂

  3. 3 Behind.The.At October 29, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    I’ve never even heard of NaBloPoMo but I’m tempted to dive in with you. But what happens if you accidenatally miss a day? Or what if what you write is too boring to want to reveal to the world? Can your daily posts be on two different blogs? What a great idea!

    • 4 oldbluesocks October 30, 2009 at 6:15 am

      Essentially the challenge is to get you writing. If you miss a day you simply lose the opportunity at one of the prizes (which are drawn from those that successfully posted all 30 days). Chances of winning one of those aren’t that great anyway. The biggest prize is just the satisfaction of successfully doing it. All of the posts have to be on a single blog, but I suppose posting a link that says “hey I posted over at my other place, check it out” might count as a post. Nobody judges the content. It get’s a bit tricky near the end when I run out of things to say and things get busier with Christmas approaching, but I’ve never regretted trying.

  4. 5 Alto2 October 30, 2009 at 12:19 am

    I’ve already registered with NaBloPoMo for this year. I’ll never do WriMo b/c I don’t have a novel in me. Christina is right that you have to carve out time to do for yourself. IOW, follow my lead, get your head out of your heiney, and keep writing. It’s a dismal world without your wit.

  5. 6 lewis1212 October 31, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I agree with Alto2. I also find it helps to stockpile a few posts for those days you know will be busy!

  6. 7 Quadelle November 1, 2009 at 4:55 am

    I think I’ll give NaNoBloMo a whirl. Not sure it’s my brightest idea ever, but if it gets too unmanageable I can always toss in the towel.

  7. 8 Doc Thelma November 1, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    I’m trying NaBloPoMo. As for the novel; well, years ago I thought of giving it a go, co-writing a kid’s superhero book with some friends. It never happened, but one of my partners went on to publish his own work. Check out his blog: http://tem2.livejournal.com/.

    I plan to do more reading and commenting this month, as well as writing, so I’m glad to see so many Aug96 moms jumping in.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

