Things That Don’t Suck: Seasonal Treats

It has been a while since I’ve done “Things That Don’t Suck Thursday”, so I thought it might be time to celebrate something.  It’s fall and it’s harvest time.  While I am not a fan of the increasing cold and damp weather, I absolutely love that the colours change, and with it come seasonal changes on market shelves.

Now, I really want to like pumpkin pie.  I love the look of it.  I want to bite into it and have my mouth do a happy dance.  But in truth I am always, always disappointed.  And for this reason I was under the assumption that I therefore did not like pumpkin. I have avoided all things pumpkin as a result.  Would I want to spend $5 on a spiced pumpkin latte treat, for example, only be disappointed, when I know the regular every day coffee would do the same trick?  Probably not.  Recently, however, a co-worker brought in pumpkin muffins as a treat and they were quite yummy.  I am now wondering if maybe there is something else in pumpkin pie that my tastebuds find disagreeable and perhaps the culinary experimentation should commence.

There is, however, a treat that comes out this time of year that I know will never disappoint….  Something that says, “this is fall so maybe your mouth should throw a party.”  …  Something that my brain turns to at the first sign of fall leaves…

candy-corn

Candy corn…..  Mmmmmmm…. If candy corn were really a vegetable it would actually be possible for me to be a vegetarian, at least for October.

So, tell me… is there a seasonal treat you look forward to in fall?  Do you make it yourself or is it something you buy? Does it have any ritual behind it (harvest it yourself, hide it from your kids, eat it in a special way)?  I would love to hear about it.  What will you celebrate today?

2 Responses to “Things That Don’t Suck: Seasonal Treats”


  1. 1 Christina October 15, 2009 at 11:45 am

    Pumpkin Spice lattes at Starbucks. Mmmmmmmm.

  2. 2 Lauri October 16, 2009 at 10:48 am

    My favorite fall treats are pumpkin pie (I’m so sorry you don’t like it – maybe it’s a texture thing?), crisp Jonathan apples from a local orchard, caramels, and roasted chilies.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

