Work Update

So how’s the new job going, you ask?

Well, while I admit the task I am doing is incredibly tedious, and I am doing the same task all the live-long day, I could not be happier to be where I am.  I am working for a department that services a segment of the population I care a great deal about, the people who work there are warm, and friendly, and don’t mind the non-stop questions of a newbie.  I love the walk to work and home again.  Silly as it is, I even love my key pass thingy, even if it has my old face imprinted on it.  It means that “there” is where I’m supposed to be right now, and that holds a lot of significance to me.  The key pass thingy is like my invitation to be there, and I have waited a long time to come to the party.  Well, any party actually.

For the most part I think things are going ok.  The other day I was in the lunch room and many of the senior employees were there too.  I told a story which had them laughing a great deal.  Initially I felt pretty good about that… that they appreciated my sense of humour… it was only the next day that it occured to me that they may in fact have been laughing at me not with me, but whatever.

And I’m trying not to dwell on the fact that one of the higher ups calls me by a completely different name, so now lots of co-workers think my name is something else too.  Not that it’s a bad name, like “Dumbo” or “Fang” or anything.  And it’s sort of like my name… it’s just not my real name.  Do you suppose the name thing would have any effect on a person’s forever job possibilities, or should I concentrate on the fact that “Old Fang does good work” is just as much a compliment as “Sock Girl does good work”?

Anyway, my apologies for the lack of blog posts.  Still getting back in the work/school/back to real life thing.  I’ll try to post more often as I really miss it here.

3 Responses to “Work Update”


  1. 1 Quadelle September 23, 2009 at 8:59 am

    Good to hear it’s going well. The name thing is awkward. It happens to me from time to time and I always make a call on whether to correct the person based on how likely I am to have ongoing interaction. A distant superior is still in the grey zone. Maybe that could be one of the many questions you ask a co-worker.

  2. 2 Chrisitna September 23, 2009 at 10:33 am

    AH, the name thing. I might have blogged about that 🙂 My rule is the same as Quadelle’s – if I know I am going to have ongoing interaction with someone, I will correct them.

    I’m glad you are finding things to enjoy about it! Good luck with getting back into the routine.

  3. 3 kathryn September 28, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Thank you for talking about grief. What an excellent description. I lost my Dad and brother within 3 months of each other 4 years ago. Or was it yesterday?

    Take care.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

