Things That Don’t Suck: Indulgence

As mentioned in an earlier post, I had set yesterday aside for a TTDS post on indulgence. My grand plan at the time was that I would actually spend the first part of the week sampling a variety of treats with the goal of finding something wonderful to tell you about – you know, in the interest of thorough research. I’m nice like that.

And then Thursday arrived and I realized I hadn’t actually had a treat that week. No icey umbrella beverage, no decadent chocolate wonderfulness, no fancy lotion or potion or polish to sigh over. If I may be quite honest I don’t think I even got to watch an entire television program uninterrupted.

How did that happen? And is it happening to you?

I have discovered that I am spending my time completely consumed with day to day life, moving from crisis to crisis, from task to task, from detail to detail. The ultimate indulgence for me would probably be 15 minutes of solitude, quiet and reflection. (Which is not to say one can’t quietly reflect with an umbrella beverage or decadent chocolate wonderfulness, but baby steps here, people… baby steps).

So, my mission now is to carve out that time for myself… to take some private moments each day most days as often as possible to refill my spirit.

How do you refill your spirit? Is there an indulgence that makes your soul say ahhhh! What will you celebrate today?

5 Responses to “Things That Don’t Suck: Indulgence”


  1. 1 Robin July 31, 2009 at 10:36 am

    You inspired me to indulge and celebrate earlier this week. I had dessert before dinner. 🙂

    There is an ice cream stand not too far from where I live (New Baltimore Ice Cream) where they make their own ice cream and it’s incredibly delicious. The stand is only about a 10-15 minute drive from us, but for some reason we forget about it (and then remember when the season is over and the stand is closed). During a good year, we’ll get there once or twice. I decided I wanted to indulge in their delicious ice cream at least three times this season. But every time my husband and I talk about going we’re too full because we just ate dinner or too lazy or it’s too late in the evening. Earlier this week I mentioned to my husband that we should go to New Baltimore and have ice cream for lunch or, if he couldn’t go at lunch time, before dinner. Have dessert first so we wouldn’t be too full. He called on Wednesday just before leaving work and said, “Let’s go for ice cream before dinner today.”

    The small cone consists of two HUGE scoops of ice cream on whatever cone you pick (waffle or cake). Among the six or so flavors for that day were M&M and CookiesNCream. I couldn’t decide between the two so I had a scoop of each. It was an excellent choice. 🙂

    While I don’t like to think of food (or ice cream) as a spiritual type of indulgence, I have to admit that the act of having dessert first (or dessert for dinner), of sitting around with other people at picnic tables and lapping at ice cream that was quickly melting in the heat, was so much fun that I felt like I had shed a few years.

    (I think I should have just written a post on my own blog and linked back to you. lol! Sorry this is so long.)

  2. 2 tpgoddess0103 July 31, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    My Friday indulgence is a trip to Starbucks for breakfast. I never miss it 🙂

  3. 3 Alto2 August 2, 2009 at 12:04 am

    Like you, I am (not quietly) moving through my quotidian life, from crisis to crisis. I occasionally treat myself, but today’s “indulgence” was a novelty: DH pissed me off by refusing a neighbor’s dinner invitation at the last minute. I was rushing folding a mountain of laundry — on our bed — when he came in and laid down to discuss why he cancelled. Needless to say, I was venomously angry and did not want him near me. So, I threw him out of our room! I finished folding my laundry and calmed down.

  4. 4 Cricket August 2, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    My indulgence is watching pelicans. Pelicans are to most ungraceful bird there is. They always make me smile and frequently make me laugh.

    Do you have any funny wildlife on PEI?

  5. 5 Janet August 5, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Hmm. I’ve been considering blogging as my indulgence. And I haven’t been doing that often enough lately either. Also I feel terribly indulgent if I get a shower two days in a row. But some chocolate decadence sounds like a fine option as well.


Leave a comment




Help For Writers

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael