Things that don’t suck or maybe do, but it’s not Thursday so I’ll just let you decide

There was no post for “Things That Don’t Suck Thursday”, not that I intend to do one every day, but I thought the first month I’d manage it (having already planned some general themes).  It turns out I needed to ponder my things that don’t suck I was going to post this week, as it is a tad more complex than I originally envisioned.

As a bit of backstory, there was a point in my life many years ago when I watch ER regularly (earlier in the series).  Then in one episode (and the details are foggy, long since purged by a brain in survival mode) either the patient mother or her newborn infant died.  As a mother, with children both living and not, it cut to the quick, and I found myself sitting on the floor, hugging my knees, weeping long after the show had ended.  That was not entertainment to me.  It was as if I had been sucker punched, and I never watched the show again, save a moment here and there channel surfing.

So fast forwarding to this week, I have my Thursday idea of “indulgence” toying in my brain, and by Wednesday evening have only a general idea of where my post would go with that (perhaps noting getting out to the movies earlier this week with my BFF), and I was  perfectly open to changing my topic to something else should inspiration strike before Thursday.  Then Wednesday evening I sat down to watch “So You Think You Can Dance.”  “Indulgence” would have to wait.  I had just seen my TTDS post….

It was Melissa and Ade’s routine on breast cancer.  I watched it and cried with Mia.  I watched it, and cried again.  Later I watched it with Husband and Rainbow and I cried again.  Then Rainbow said to me, “Why do you keep watching this if it makes you cry?”

Indeed.  How was this different than the episode of ER?

Fact – Cancer sucks.  Pain sucks.  But survival rocks.  And art that touches your heart and that makes you feel something bigger than the piece itself… I think that rocks too.  Which kind of begs the question of why I feel so differently about that episode of ER so long ago compared to that dance on Wednesday night?  Is episodic television less art than other visual arts?  Is it that one is fiction and obviously contrived, and the other shows a real person’s  a realtime emotional reaction to it. I have no clue.  But I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on the matter.

So, this Can’t-Decide-What-Sucks-or-Doesn’t-Sunday presents art that moves you.  Is there a memorable piece of art that touched your heart?  I’d love to hear about it.

And I’ll try and think of an indulgence to tell you about for Thursday.  Because I think I might enjoy the search to find just the right one.  I invite you to do the same.

3 Responses to “Things that don’t suck or maybe do, but it’s not Thursday so I’ll just let you decide”


  1. 1 Robin July 26, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    The most recent and memorable piece of art that touched me is the one you mention. I watched So You Think You Can Dance on Wednesday, too. Melissa and Ade’s dance about breast cancer made me cry and cry again.

    My mother has lung cancer and I thought of her while watching the piece. She was diagnosed a year ago and I don’t think it was expected that she’d make it this far, through chemo and radiation treatments.

    Anyhow.

    It touched me in a way nothing else has recently and even allowed me to bring up some of what *I* have been feeling.

  2. 2 tpgoddess0103 July 26, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    I saw an episode of ER – Loves Labor Lost – I remember we were all pregnant with our August babes when it first ran – that impacted me like that most likely since we were all due to give birth in a few months. I remember many of us talking about it on the list after because it drove right into our deepest fears.

    I think TV is too real – it’s a depiction of something that could *actually* happen, or has actually happened to many of us. Too close to reality.

    I think dance is abstract enough to bring out feelings which are good to feel, even if they make us cry. It’s a gentle prodding vs a kick in the gut.

  3. 3 Janet July 30, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    I remember that episode of ER and it nearly did me in, and that was years before I’d ever even thought about having kids.
    Dance is more accessible because it allows more leeway in the interpretation, instead of hitting you over the head.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

