Spaces

If I were to choose a movie to watch it would either be a kid’s film, or a romantic comedy.  So last night I surfed the channels for something to watch and picked a sappy chick flick that had obvious plot holes, was not all that interesting, but had attractive actors that I nonetheless hoped would find love in the end (they did, of course).

And as I watched the movie, it occurred to me that when I tried to relate to the movie, I found myself longing to be there, but not for the reasons you might think.  I do not long to be in search of love.  I do not long for a romantic happily ever after any different than my current life.  What I longed for, dear people, was the heroine’s kick a** house.  There was space.  There were glorious windows.  And a porch.  And the gardens were weeded.  And there was no clutter.  I am not even sure what the hero’s house looked like because whenever he was shown in his home he was in a chair with a beer, but I have no doubt it would be a spacious, immaculate, well lit abode as well.

The houses of movies are always dream homes. Heck, even Shrek lived in a house that was clutter free.  That just isn’t my life.  But oh, how I want it to be.  Space, and storage, and light… I long for that.  Almost as I long to be in the position to make that a reality.

People in movies never have rented homes with creepy clay basements.  Any bathroom lineups shown have the purpose of building tension or delivering a punch line.  They never do laundry (though I have no doubt they would have laundry facilities to die for) or clean beyond clearing a dinner table or drying a dish.  And the homes are almost always bigger than a single person living alone needs.

I feel I must clarify that this is not a rant.  I am not at all complaining, for I have a place to live that accommodates the people and critters that are my family.  We have a roof, a working furnace, and a fridge covered in art work.  And those are very big blessings.  But it is not my dream home.  This is about the dream.

My dream house is not a mansion.  It is roomy though, but not so large that I couldn’t clean it easily myself.  It has a modest garden, or window boxes… just enough to make it pretty, but wouldn’t make me feel like I needed a team of gardeners to keep up with or like a failure when I don’t.  It has a washer and dryer that is not in the basement.  It has storage and big closets.  There are at least three bedrooms (though a spare would be a bonus) and there is room to do more than just walk around the furniture.  It has shelves and cupboards and drawers that work, and all our stuff is in those things.  There is room to bake.  And a welcoming place to take off your boots. And lots of windows.  Maybe there is a deck, or a porch, or even just bench outside to read and think and stretch one’s imagination.  It feels like home.  Maybe something like this.

Is your living space your dream house?  If so, what makes it feel that way?  If not, what does your dream space look like?  I’d love to hear from you.

4 Responses to “Spaces”


  1. 1 leslie June 28, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Interesting post, as even although I’ve been a reader of your journal for a long time, I realized I know very little about your *ahem* romantic past. I had kind of wondered if there was a Mr. Blue Socks ever in the picture …

    I love the house – great floor plan, and it really does seem to fit your bill for happiness – I hope that someday in the not-so-far future your dreams will come true.

  2. 2 tpgoddess0103 June 28, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    In my 20s, I actually drew out a floor plan that was my dream at that time. Later on I saw a model home here that replaced it in my mind. Oh, how I wanted that house! Then several more over the years became my dream. And then, in 2003, I was finally in a real position to purchase a house. No where near as pricey or big or with a huge yard. But you know what, it’s MINE and I’ve personalized it with decor that is all me and it fits my family with its smaller size and ease of care. So yes, I am definitely living in my Dream Home 😉


  1. 1 Dream House « Somewhere In The Suburbs Trackback on June 28, 2009 at 9:31 pm
  2. 2 On Stability, Super Heros, And a Chance to See Ellen « Old Blue Socks Trackback on January 15, 2010 at 7:23 am

Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

