For Richer, For Poorer

Last weekend the girls and I travelled to Nova Scotia for my cousin’s wedding.  For the girls, I think the trip was not so much about a celebration of love and family reunions as it was about staying in a hotel room and a trip to the mall.  As it turns out, no one was disappointed.

When we checked in to the room the front desk attendant noted that we were given a nice upgrade because the hotel was undergoing renovations.  We had booked a standard room with two double beds.  What we got was a “room” on the executive floor.  The “room” probably had more square footage than where I live.  It had a living room, kitchenette, bathroom with shower on the first floor (yes, it had an upstairs), and it had two bedrooms with private decks and another full bathroom with juccuzzi on the second floor.  And to make the weekend even sweeter, after my father had a drink with the owner, the rate for our rooms got cut even from the standard rate.  Friends, it was two nights of heavenly luxury.  Among my favourite things…

Not only was somebody other than me responsible for cleaning linens… but they did this oragami towel thing like we were really special guests or something (I’m so easily amused!).

luxury1

(I think the girls are going to start expecting me to make face cloth swans or something now though)…

And also there were nice smelling souvenirs lotions and potions I would never buy myself in a million years…

luxury2

And, even the loveys had to check out the juccuzi…

luxury3

So now I’m thinking that if that was the executive floor, I definitely want to be an executive when I grow up.

The weekend is over and life has returned to normal now.  I’m the one cleaning the towels and folding them in squares (though I may get daring and do triangles one day).  We bathe with regular soap.  Although, admittedly, the lovey still dresses in her scuba diving clothes on occasion.

It’s back to real life and I am not an executive. In fact, other than a temp thing here and there I’m pretty much unemployed.  The job hunt continues, the rejections keep coming, and I think sometimes G*d needs a hearing aid.

But for two blissful days I was living the dream, baby.  I was living the dream.

5 Responses to “For Richer, For Poorer”


  1. 1 ramblingmom May 23, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww I LOVE upgrades.

  2. 2 LSM May 23, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    Sounds fabulous. I can’t think of anyone who deserves it more!

  3. 3 Heidi Lou May 24, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Cool! I’m glad you got such a good deal and had such a good time at the hotel!

  4. 4 Robin May 27, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Wow! You got a fabulous deal. 🙂

    I love that oragami towel thing. Not that I see it often. In fact, only once. Because of a room upgrade. It’s tough going back to reality after that.

  5. 5 Janet June 3, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    Good – you deserved a break! even if was a short one.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

