I Hope It’s a Sign

As readers all know, I regularly go to Family Taekwondo Night with my girls.  You might even remember that I got my first belt in December.  (We probably shouldn’t bother to mention that few, if any, ever fail the first test).  I’m still very proud of it.  Wednesday nights really are one of the highlights of my week.

Now, despite having a belt, I have never actually worn it to class as I do not have a dobok (uniform).  So, the belt sits on my dresser, and me and my little yoga pants and baggy t-shirts go to class.  My promise to myself was that when I finally get a job, I will buy myself a dobok.

Tomorrow I have a very important job interview.  An interview that has taken me almost eight months since application and two successful tests to get to.  My fingers are crossed, my wishes are wished, and my prayers continue.

Then tonight, a black belt approached me as the children started their lesson.  And, out of the blue, she offered me her dobok from before she was a black belt (black belts wear uniforms with black collars).  I almost cried at her kindness.  This garment, which she used for years to train for her current rank was freely passed on to me, on the eve of my interview (an interview that I could use a bit more confidence for).

While there may be no connection between the two events, I’m going to sleep tonight feeling very blessed.  Because, really, I am.

4 Responses to “I Hope It’s a Sign”


  1. 1 leslie February 26, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    I am sending along good wishes for your interview … the dobok seems to be a great omen!

  2. 2 Lauri February 26, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    I think it’s a great sign! Best of luck tomorrow!

  3. 3 Janet February 27, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    That is VERY cool. Good karma indeed!


  1. 1 Not the makeover I intended « Old Blue Socks Trackback on November 18, 2009 at 5:55 am

Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

