Shhh

I have a nasty cold.  The down-in-the-chest-and-left-with-no-voice variety of cold.  Finally, a couple of hours ago, I got completely fed up with the chest pain/sore throat and just stopped attempting to croak out words anymore.  I also discovered (thanks to my daughter’s suggestion), that even if you have no voice you can still whisper if you do need to say something.

And an interesting thing happened.

People stopped talking loudly to me too.  While nothing is wrong with my hearing, I noticed that Dolittle indicated with gestures rather than words that it was snowing outside.  Rainbow whispered her request for chocolate milk.  Husband told me he thought he might go out in hushed tones.  My voice is gone so the whole house has gotten peaceful.

Hmmm… You don’t suppose I’m the cause of all the noise in the first place, do you?

1 Response to “Shhh”


  1. 1 Janet February 20, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Probably not. I had laryngitis last year and nothing got quiet around here. Of course my kids are younger. Trying to read “Go Dog Go” in a whisper was interesting.
    Hope you feel better soon!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

