It’s 2009

Last night the new year was rung in in a typical lackluster way.  I crawled into bed at about midnight and said to Husband, “Happy New Year.  I hope 2009 doesn’t suck.”  And that was it.  Wheee.

This year will not revisit anything in 2008.  Not resolutions unattained, not wishes unfulfilled.  Nothing.  Farewell 2008.  Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

Step one of the new year in the daunting task of getting my life in order is, of course, to find a new job.  A fabulous one prefered, thank you very much, but I will settle for just plain ok, to be quite honest. 

I guess,  as this new year begins, I feel a little like I’m redefining myself.  It is amazing how, even though one may not like one’s employment, so much of one’s self perception is wrapped up in what one does, or the fact that one even works.  I am a what?  I do whatWhat indeed… I have no answers, and it scares the crap out of me.  What is it I even want beyond just a paycheck?  Or is it just a paycheck from which one can create the what they identify with?

Then, of course, I need to work on creativity… write more, create more, and learn how to sew stuff.  I got a sewing machine for Christmas and, quite frankly, either pattern makers are really bad at explaining things well, or I need to brush up on my instruction following skills, because in the end I just kind of winged it on both projects (doll clothes and a tote bag).  I don’t think we’ll be starting any major quilts any time soon.  Placemats maybe… but quilts are somewhere down the road, I think.  Baby steps all around I guess.

And increasing my writing needs to include blogging.  2008 was not my greatest blog effort, admittedly.  But it is a new year ripe with opportunities to do better, so we’ll include that in my list of efforts…. however rambling and incoherent they may sometimes be.

To all my readers, however few and far between, I hope 2009 brings you peace and fulfilment, good health, and joy.  Happy New Year.

5 Responses to “It’s 2009”


  1. 1 Lauri January 1, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Happy New Year, Sock Girl!

  2. 2 Tanya January 2, 2009 at 12:47 am

    Happy New Year! 2009 – every article I’ve read about this year says it can only get better. So be it!

  3. 3 Alto2 January 2, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Happy New Year, Sock Friend. My one wish for you is personal fulfillment, whatever that may be.

  4. 4 Robin January 4, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Happy 2009, Sock Girl!

    I was kinda’ glad to see 2008 go, too. There were some highlights, but the bad news of the year sort of overshadows everything else.

    I hope 2009 is a banner year. 🙂

  5. 5 Janet January 29, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Congrats on the sewing machine. And it’s not you, the pattern makers are at fault. I’ve been sewing from patterns for nearly 36 years now, and they are not NEARLY as easy to follow as they used to be.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

