My Job Is Gone

After more than four years of work in my office, I finally got a name plate and they hung it yesterday morning.

Then in the afternoon HR called.  My contract will not be renewed and my so last day in the office is December 12th.  I will be on a priority call list for temporary work for five years.  I’m thinking “priority call” does not necessarily mean “priority hire”.  And I unless it were longer term temporary work (not vacation leaves, etc.) I don’t know how that is really much comfort.

I haven’t been able to eat.  I’ve barely slept.  My head is pounding.  I feel sick.

My mind is whirling in so many directions that I need to jot down my thoughts  on things to do so as not to forget them.  I don’t know that I’ve ever felt like this before.

8 Responses to “My Job Is Gone”


  1. 1 CT Mom December 5, 2008 at 6:45 am

    Hugs, hugs, hugs….

  2. 3 leslie December 5, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    I am so sorry, too. It’s so hard not to make this a part of who you are and what your value is … but I know right now many, many people are in the same situation as you are. It is the terrible economy. It is not you – it is the way the global situation is playing out.

    A couple things: First – you have your family. You have your health. Your children are healthy. For the past few weeks I have been dealing with the possibility of a terminal illness. It has given me the gift of perspective. Things that have seemed earth-shattering in the recent past seem like nothing to me now. Please know that this hideous job loss is actually low on the list of what has true meaning. Even though it is painful and scary – there could be a situation that you would gladly trade for this one.

    Second: This job termination has nothing to do with your value as a person. You know how bad this employer has made you feel over time – you have blogged about it many times. It has always seemed to me that you are worth so much more than they can offer. I know this is an awful situation, but it may be the impetus to move you to something better. It may be that in a year you will be grateful that this has happened — because it was what sent you on a better path.

    Okay, enough with the zen-talk. Hug your beautiful girls close, savor the healthy close family you have … and keep journaling. I know better days are ahead for you.

  3. 4 Calvin December 5, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    That stinks. As difficult as it is, keep in mind that without change there can be no improvement. This may be just what you need to find a better situation.

  4. 5 heidilou December 6, 2008 at 11:42 am

    I’m so sorry, Sock Girl! I wish there was something I could say that would make you feel better. I’m hearing WAY too many stories like yours recently.

  5. 6 Tanya December 9, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Obviously, you must not get a name plate at your next job! Thinking of you this week!!

  6. 7 Janet January 29, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    I’m so sorry I missed this. I’ll now be reading in the hope that a post indicates you found something better. The fact that you posted about Dilbert today does not give me hope, however.

  7. 8 kel February 20, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    wow
    I was retrenched on the same day!

    was just getting on a bit more even keel then found out on Thursday I didn’t get similar job with the (better) competition – it would appear my verbal referee from old retrenching employer sabotaged my chance – their fear of me helping the competition beat them in a limited market over-ruled the facts that my work had increased their public profile and increased sales

    shafted
    shocked
    and taking time to try and gather a semblance of belief that not all employers are bastards


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

