Rude Can Be Good

I went to the mall on Sunday at about 1:30pm to pick up something that the girls wanted and that I had seen for a good price earlier in the week.  (Sunday shopping is actually legal here from the May long weekend to Christmas, but not January-April).   As I was entering the mall, I noticed a teenager, slim, taller than me, leaning on a cart, and she had a mohawk.  I did notice that the mohawk had highlights, and that she looked unusual because of the hair, but I did not want to appear rude and openly watch her.  Mohawks on teen girls is not very common here, and I did not want to seem like I was gawking, so I kept strolling along, diverting my eyes to other shoppers, other things.

Then much later in the evening (probably around 8:00pm) I opened the newspaper and start reading.  Police are looking for the public’s assistance in locating a 16 year old girl, missing since November 21st.  They gave her physical description… height, hair colour, eye colour…. mohawk.  It could have been her.  Given where I live, it probably was her.  And in my effort to not appear rude, I did not notice details I might have otherwise…  what she was doing… who she was with.  The most I can say, is a female teen with a mohaw was at the mall.  And I wish I had been ruder.

2 Responses to “Rude Can Be Good”


  1. 2 Doc Thelma December 2, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Wow! I assume you called the authorities? Even without details, knowing she was at the mall could help.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

