Something You Don’t Know About Me #3

Since reading the Eragon books, I think I’ve started to develop an interest in dragon stories (though probably not necessarily of a ‘slay the dragon’ variety).  Does anyone know of any other books where a dragon is central to the story, but is not necessarily the enemy to be vanquished? 

And while we’re on the topic of books, In addition to NaBloPoMo, I signed up for NaNoWriMo again this year and am failing miserably.  The problem is, I like my characters too much to write crap about them.  It’s too tramatic for me.  I need to struggle with the perfect words.  I know it will be a great exercise for me if I can just let go and do it.  I think I need to start over with brand new situations and characters that I haven’t imagined yet and don’t necessarily even like and see where that takes me.  Maybe I’ll even throw a dragon in for good measure…

3 Responses to “Something You Don’t Know About Me #3”


  1. 1 Simone November 10, 2008 at 4:39 am

    We all love the eragon books here! We dutifully lined up at the bookstore and waited until 2:01pm to purchase Brisingr – which I have to say was definitely the best installment. Age is improving his writing skills. Good luck with Nanowrimo. I didn’t sign up this year – I knew there was no way I’d get to it. Next year maybe!

  2. 2 Lauri November 10, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Have you read The Dragonriders of Pern series by Anne McCaffery?

  3. 3 Janet November 10, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    I haven’t gotten to the Eragon series yet. I’m still trying to read all the books I own. I love dragons myself, but I can’t think of anything besides what Lauri said.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

