First (Next?) Post of NaBloPoMo

I have joined Nablopomo again this year, and as I am not sure that a primarily photo post will count, I have decided to write a brief description of Halloween as well.

The plan was for Rainbow to dress as a scarecrow and Dolittle to dress as a pirate, but as it turned out Dolittle had a last minute change of heart and decided she would rather stay home and give out treats.  I’m not sure that the evening turned out as she hoped, given that we only had four trick or treaters.

Rainbow and I, as is our custom, begin and end the evening of begging for candy with a visit to the girls godparents’ house.  And as usual, my girl was quite selective about which doors she would knock on.  Decorations too scary?  Pass.  Pumpkins look a bit nasty?  Pass.  Haunting music playing?  Pass.  This makes for short work of a couple of small streets, and probably just the  right amount of sugary wonderfulness for one small person, all things considered.

One thing that I was struck by this Halloween was the sheer number of kids I saw trick or treating who were older.  There were way more teenagers than little ones.  They were running from house to house with huge bags ladden with massive amounts of treats, clearly on a mission to get as much as they could as fast as they could.  I even saw one guy using a shopping cart.  Seriously… what kind of greedy bugger trick or treats  through the neighbourhood with a shopping cart.  And what would you think if a kid rolled one up to your doorway looking for treats?

3 Responses to “First (Next?) Post of NaBloPoMo”


  1. 1 heidilou November 1, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Maybe his costume was “grocery shopper”?

  2. 2 Robin November 1, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    I admire Rainbow and her discrimination. It sounds to me like she’s a young woman who knows what she wants (and doesn’t want…which can be almost as important, if not more so, as knowing what one wants).

  3. 3 Janet November 3, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    It really annoys me when I see older teens trick-or-treating. Of course, we don’t get trick-or-treaters at all (first of all, we’re not home, because we’re out trick-or-treating, but then there’s that quarter mile of driveway. Uphill.), so I don’t have to deal with them. There really should be an age limit.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

