Perhaps it is time to let it go

I have casually mentioned from time to time that I really like office supplies.  I could browse the aisles of the office supply store for hours on end.  Blank notebook…. the perfect pen…. the smell of a fresh box of crayons… beautiful white erasers…. ahhhh… the joy…

And I like the familiarity of the supplies in my workspace.  I like my little purple pens, and my colourful little paper clips.  There is comfort there.

Then a couple of days ago this guy rushes into the office and says to me, “I’m giving a presentation in the next room.  Can I borrow a dry erase marker.  I don’t have that much to write.”  Now that last sentence sticks out in my mind because really, who would say that?  Who would even think I might be concerned about the amount of ink one uses if they borrow a pen?  It wouldn’t occur to me. 

But what did occur to me was that the only dry erase marker I had in my entire pencil cup was my orange skinny one.  I’m very attached to my orange dry erase marker.  It doesn’t stink.  I’ve had it to write “back in 5 minutes” on our old office whiteboard and it survived when even our in/out magnets got stolen.  It survived the move to our new office building.  It was with great hesitation that I admitted that yes, I did indeed have a dry erase marker.

“It’s just a thin one,” I said as I showed it to him.  The vibrant orange cap hinting at my lie when I said, “It probably won’t do at all.”

“It’s perfect,” he said (and it was).  He added, “I’ll bring it back soon.”

Which he didn’t of course.  It’s been two days and the marker has yet to return.  I’m pretty sure the presentation is over.

So I complained to my co-worker.  I whined about my orange marker not being returned.  I lamented the broken promises.

It was then that she pointed out that we haven’t actually had a white board in our office since we moved to the new building three months ago and maybe I should just let it go.

‘Ya think? 

(Sigh).  Maybe she is right. 

Or not.  I went home that night and, still wound up about the entire event, told my girls that someone came into my office and borrowed a marker and never returned it.  Dolittle said, “Hope it wasn’t the orange one.”  (That’s my girl!)

(Sniff). 

Maybe I should alert the media and let people in the area know there is a lying, pen-thieving lunatic on the loose who is not to be trusted with precious office supplies?  Or put posters on lamp posts with an artist sketch and a number to call if anyone has seen my marker?  I don’t think that’s too over the top… do you?

4 Responses to “Perhaps it is time to let it go”


  1. 1 Janet October 9, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    At the risk of belaboring the obvious, did you check next door to see if he just left it in there? I love office supplies too. I still have office supplies even though I haven’t worked in an office in 5 years.

    I would just drop little hints as to his unreliability. Eventually the whole office will know he’s a thief, or at best, untrustworthy, and no one will lend him so much as a paper clip or a staple. You might even find out who he is. Then again, I can send you my skinny orange dry erase marker that I never use because the blue one hasn’t dried up yet.

  2. 2 Calvin October 9, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    I feel your pain. I have yet to meet an office supply that I can’t concoct a probable use for. I have been ban from buying supplies for the office (and I am the boss who pays the bills) because I buy too much stuff we will probably never use!

    I once had a boss that would not let anyone in the office use a pink ink pen because it was her “signature color” so I constantly buy pink pens even though it was 17 years ago I told her she was a *itch and quit. In my office, anyone who wants to use a pink pen is welcome to do so! Pink pens for everyone!

    I will look through my vast over supply and see if we have an extra odorless skinny orange dry erase marker (or 2 or 3) with your name on it!

  3. 3 Luci October 10, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Funny, reminds me of the red Swingline stapler in “Office Space.” lol! I completely understand. I have a home office and can easily go overboard with supplies. I have a favorite pen, so smooth and my penmanship shines when I use it. When my kids run off with it, I throw a conniption! At least I can hunt them down. Hopefully the office thief will return your marker!

  4. 4 Alto2 October 21, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Hi, I’m Alto2, and I’m an office-supply addict, too. When’s the next meeting of Markers Anonymous?

    Return the Sacred Marker, vain thief!!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

