Anticipated Book

Harry Potter novels were the first series of books that I followed… and by “followed” I mean anxiously awaited the next installment.  From the get-go you knew there were seven books.  Each one was anxiously awaited and duly devoured.

So some years ago when I started hearing buzz about Eragon, I became interested in checking out that fantasy series as well.  Dragons, elves and ogres were just my cup of tea.  While admittedly slow to warm up to, once I was into the book, it too got devoured.  The “Inheritance Trilogy” became anticipated reading as well as the years ticked off between books.

Now here is where I admit I am a book peeker.  I peek ahead to make sure I’m going to like where things are going to end up.  I really don’t want to invest so much time and emotion in a book if I’m not going to like where it’s going.  I’m also curious about what the last word in a book is, though I have no idea why that is.  Someday I’d like to write a story that ends in a cool word like “sassafras” or “fandango” or something like that.

So this past September 20th brought the release of the third book in the “Inheritance Trilogy,” Brisingr.  And while I haven’t had a chance to give the book the time I really want to spend, imagine my surprise when I peek ahead in the book to see the last word, and I also see this:

HERE ENDS THE THIRD BOOK
OF THE INHERITANCE CYCLE.
THE STORY WILL CONTINUE AND CONCLUDE
IN BOOK FOUR.

What. The. Heck. ?!?

Somewhere between book two and book three, someone added a fourth book to the trilogy making it a “cycle” instead?  I mean, on one hand I think it’s great there will be more, but on the other hand I had really built up excitement in my head about finally finding out how this tale would end only to discover it would not be a couple of years probably before that happens.  I mean, imagine if you went into a bank and said, “I’ve decided not to pay my loan in three years so you’ll have to wait longer for your money.”  Or to your boss, “You know that report you were really hoping for your next meeting… check back with me in a year or so and I’ll see what I can do for you.”

I get that there may have been more to the story than three books could accommodate, and I’m sure in a couple of years I’ll be absolutely delighted to have another book release to look forward to, but I kind of wish I had just known about it in advance of purchasing book three.  Like if book two had ended with “Dang, this thing is getting long” so I wouldn’t have been so suprised.

Of course, it will be all be worth it and forgotten if the fourth book does end in “fandango”.  I’m just sayin’.

2 Responses to “Anticipated Book”


  1. 1 Lauri October 6, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    I haven’t read these books yet, but my kids love them. I can only imagine if the end of the last HP book said something similar- ARGH.

  2. 2 Janet October 9, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    I got hold of the first three Harry Potters at the same time. It was torture to have to wait after that. I also wait anxiously for Anne Perry’s new books in her “Inspector Monk” and “Thomas and Charlotte Pitt” series. She has a new series out which has interfered with this schedule and I’m annoyed.
    I’ve been intrigued by these books – the library has them, so I may pick them up. Then again, now that you’ve warned me, I may just wait until they’re all out and read them all at once.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

