Working

So yesterday, I was walking in to work, and there were security people giving tickets, and there were construction people working on walkways, and there were two other guys painting a parking lot.  In all it was a hub of activity from a fall spruce-up point of view.

So, I carry along my merry way to work, lunch and coffee in hand, and I’m halfway to the building when I think to myself, Self… did that sign really just say what you thought it did?  You should go back and take a closer look.

Sure enough…

Looks like the driveway painter, presumably Tom, has his very own personalized work signs.  And really, why not… Lots of people have name plates on their offices… why shouldn’t Tom?  The parking lot, for that moment in time, was his office per se.  And why don’t lots of other workers have personalized signs… construction flaggers could hold signs that say not only STOP, but “Please don’t run over Joe.” 

And maybe, as I’ve been such a horrible blogger this summer, a personalized sign might be just what I need too… to snag a little more computer time…

Couldn’t hurt.

3 Responses to “Working”


  1. 1 LSM September 12, 2008 at 10:15 am

    You know, I bet people would be more likey to slow down if the sign said, “Please don’t run over Joe” rather than just SLOW. I think the painter’s sign is hilarious!

  2. 2 Alto2 September 15, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    I agree with LSM. I would be far more likely to slow down in construction zones — of which there are plenty here — if the signs said “Look out for Joe,” and if Joe (in our case, José) were actually working.

  3. 3 Janet October 9, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Our road construction signs say, “Please be careful. My Daddy is working here.” Pretty effective.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

