Bagpipes Before Breakfast

What does it mean when you start hearing bagpipes before you’ve even had your morning coffee?  It means you must be in the heart of Charlottetown on parade day.

Today is a holiday in town.  A day off to watch a parade which celebrates a horse race.  It’s a rather home-spun type of event, where a typical float is the back of a flat bed truck adorned with balloons and crape paper as participants dance, wave, and smile as the music blares.  It is a part of local culture and tradition, and we go each year.  My favorite part are the large helium balloons.  My least favorite are the bagpipes warming up before breakfast.

With the parade ending at lunch, the girls and I had the afternoon to fill, and true to my Canada Day notion of spending time together in a coffee shop, we made a plan to take our notebooks and spend a while at a local spot we have never been, sipping a beverage, and jotting down thoughts, dreams, stories, and other great works.  And blog posts too.

The children got their first fancy hot chocolate.  When I suggested a topping of whipped cream they initially thought I was joking, but soon were on board.  They were both impressed and amused by the beverage.  We sipped on the drinks and talked for a while before pulling out our notebooks.  Rainbow worked on her gratitude journal and drew for a while, Dolittle jotted notes and lists.  I blogged by hand (to be transcribed later).  There is something to be said for this long-hand thing.  I can see how the environment and the method is condusive to creativity.  I can also see how longer creative works may require solitude or the company of the less inquisitive.  But it was lovely — we three, journalling together.

Sometimes bagpipes before breakfast is actually just a quirky way to start a rather wonderful day.

3 Responses to “Bagpipes Before Breakfast”


  1. 1 Calvin August 16, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    When I hear bagpipes before breakfast it means that my MacNeighbor is up early working in his garage!

  2. 2 LSM August 16, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    I think putting up with early morning bagpipes is worth it for a day like you described. I love the image of you and the girls all sitting and journaling together. Enjoy the rest of the long weekend.

  3. 3 Squib August 16, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Our next door neighbor’s son plays bagpipes and ever since he went to McGill for college we no longer get our soundtrack of our life….I miss it. I personally loved hearing his bagpipes before breakfast and I miss it, but I had years to get used to it.

    I am glad your girls loved the whipped cream on the hot chocolate I personally love it that way. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

