Camp Superhero

I truly have nothing blog-worthy to talk about, but know that a post is long overdue, so I will attempt a top-of-the-head sort of thing.

The children are in day-camp this week. Sculpture camp. How cool does that sound? Thier summer camp experiences this summer are pretty much divided between artsy and fitness. I think adults ought to do that too… Immerse themselves for a week in a topic to learn a new skill or refine their existing skills. I don’t know everything I’d take, but if I could find one I’d want to go to superhero camp (which would be a “new skill” rather than “refined skill” in case you were wondering).

Lately I’ve been mulling over superheros. Really. If I were a superhero, I think I would like a cool yellow suit, with white boots and a cape. Despite the fact that yellow is not my favorite colour, I think I’d have to be a yellow superhero, because as a periwinkle and white caped crusader I doubt I would appear very authoritative. Now the dilemma of the whole superhero concept (beyond holding no superhero powers whatsoever…. a point we won’t be discussing here because I’d learn all that in superhero camp) is that I value my sleep too much to actually work all night. And, since I’m guessing night is prime time for performing superheroish feats, I’m thinking I wouldn’t be much so much of a “super”hero as a “mediocre”-hero. In a cool yellow suit.

So… what about you? What camp would you go to if you were to acquire or refine a skill for a week? And/or what kind of superhero would you be?

6 Responses to “Camp Superhero”


  1. 1 LSM July 16, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Oh, I like this. I am going to have to think about it!

  2. 2 Robin July 16, 2008 at 10:40 am

    My comment became so long that I decided to copy/paste it into my own post (which I’ll have to finish later today). Thank you for the inspiration! I haven’t had anything blog-worthy to post either, and was getting pretty bored with myself (or with my blog).

  3. 3 Calvin July 16, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    You should try out for the reality show “Who wants to be a Superhero?” http://www.scifi.com/superhero/ It is the ultimate Superhero camp! It is one show that both my husband and I enjoy. With all of the knowledge that I have acquired as a viewer, I can be your manager and give you pointers as you go!

  4. 4 Janet July 17, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I would be the Sleepy Superhero that can get kids to go to sleep every afternoon at the correct time. Obviously I would have to go to camp for a long time to achieve these superpowers, since my kids only nap if they’re in the car.

    I took a pottery class once and loved it. I would like to do that again if I can find one. In the next county is a music school that is sort of like camp – for one week in the summer they give classes all day every day in whatever you want – fiddle (and it is fiddle, not violin – same instrument, different techniques), banjo, guitar, dulcimer, etc. On the last evening, all the students participate in a concert with the teachers. When the kids get old enough we’re all going to do it.

  5. 5 Rachel August 11, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    I am just coming to terms with my own superheroicness. Though I am in my 40’s, it is all becomging clear to me — all my uniquenesses are really just hints at my superpowers.

    For the rest of you out there who have that inkling inside that you are just different, you might want to check out this book I just finished, “How to Be a SuperHero” by Doctor Metropolis. No kidding, it’s a real book.

    Now if I could just figure out where to get my spandex body suit and cape, I’d be ready to go. I work for a costume store (www.scavengeinc.com) and it just isn’t among the tons of stuff we carry.


  1. 1 A Superhero Prompt « Life in the Bogs Trackback on July 16, 2008 at 10:53 am

Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

