Another Monday

It feels like I haven’t blogged in a century. Sorry about that. Between chicken pox, travelling back and forth to my parents, ending up the school year (this week), and day to day stuff, I’ve barely been at the computer outside of work.

So… before I start telling you what I’ve been pondering lately, let me ask you… how was your day last Friday? Were you giddy with excitement and delight?

Here’s why: June 20th is apparently the happiest day of the year — at least according to one British researcher. Now, if his formula holds true… that brighter evenings, childhood memories of summer, and the prospect of summer holidays are key, we are essentially in prime time of life’s annual happy meter right now. That probably makes this the happiest Monday of the year come to think of it.

So… If we move from my earlier post about the laws of attraction, this should also be the perfect time to figure out what brings us joy and what we should be focusing our energy on.

This entire line of thinking stems from a visit the girls and I paid to the lottery house here. (I’ll wait while you stop rolling your eyes). The thing is, when I stood on the stone porch I imagined drinking my coffee there. When I walked through the kitchen, I pictured making meals there. I could see my life fitting right in there as I felt the breeze from the open windows. I felt peace there. And the children did not want to leave it.

Now, the fact that it is going to be a challenge to save up the $140 for a tagged ticket is a mere detail I won’t go into… the greater question is what about that place brought me joy? What about it still makes me smile to imagine it? Because, if I can’t attract that particular house with a winning ticket (and realistically I’m not the luckiest woman on earth when it comes to material things), what elements of it can I concentrate on bringing to my own life? So far in my thinking, it seems to me that what I crave are: light, space, quiet, elements (I was particularly drawn to earth & stone, air and water), storage, and soul soothing colours.

So, dear readers, I have a little homework assignment for you. Take this happy week and think about what it is that brings you joy and what you want to attract more of in your life. Then come back here and tell me about it. I’d love to hear what you have to say.

0 Responses to “Another Monday”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

