Baby’s First Musical Theatre

I recently mentioned to my BFF that at some point this summer I wanted to take my girls to Anne of Green Gables, the Musical.  While we do live in Prince Edward Island, they haven’t read the books, but this place is so entrenched in Anne they sort of have a sense of who she is.  The musical is extremely well done, has played here for years, and they are of an age where I think they will really enjoy it.

Yesterday I learned that BFF’s daughter, my honorary godchild (I’ve given myself the title), had gotten tickets for us to go to opening night of Anne.  Opening night.  The night where the dressier, girlier, and sparkier you are the better.  It doesn’t get much better than that when your a young girl on an evening out.  The girls were very excited about the prospect.  This afternoon when I get home from work we will commence preparations of nails and hairdoos to ensure we are dressy, girly and sparkly in time.

So, last night when I was having a quiet moment with Rainbow I smiled and said softly, “Are you excited about going to see Anne of Green Gables tommorrow night?”

She looked up at me, smiled back, and replied, “Oh yes, Mommy.  I love it when they pour the water on the witch and she melts.”

Oy.

4 Responses to “Baby’s First Musical Theatre”


  1. 1 Janet June 14, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Oh that sounds like SOOOOO much fun!!! I’d love to do that someday.
    Rainbow is a hoot – you should probably tell her so she’s not waiting for the witch to show up. (Although there were points early on where Mrs. Rachel Lynde might have qualified.)

  2. 2 Doc Thelma June 14, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I played Marilla in a high school production of this play (not a musical version.) Rainbow’s ending sounds a lot more exciting.

  3. 3 LSM June 14, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    It sounds like the perfect mother-daughter outing!

  4. 4 Lauri June 15, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    Snort. Yeah. That’s my favorite part too. Enjoy the play and being all sparkly and girly!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

