Karma, Positivity and all that Fun Stuff

Dolittle has faced a year fraught with being on the brunt end of cruel comments from the class cliques. She is kind hearted, sensitive, lovely, and hence a target of cruelness sometimes. It is, I am sure, a case of adolescent power tripping at the expense of the most vulnerable.

So as we were discussing a particular incidentn I made a comment about karma. She asked me what it was, and I explained that it is the notion that what we put out into the universe eventually comes back to us. If we put badness out there, badness will come back and bite us; similarly, if we put out goodness, then goodness will find its way to us. This is not to say that bad things never happen to good people, for certainly they do, but, I explained, the idea is that purposeful bad or good deeds we perform will have a similar effect on our own lives eventually.

Now, (in a similar vein) this has had me pondering more about my own life and the Laws of Attraction. If, as the theory goes, we attract into our own lives our own thoughts, emotions, fears & desires, what would my current thoughts and emotions be bringing to my own life? Am I consumed with the toxic energy that destroys my confidence, or am I focused on what I truly want in my own life? Do I even know what I want, and do I picture it vividly? Am I asking the universe for what I want? Am I open to receiving it? And am I showing that? Do I consistently have a gratitude attitude and express that thanks?

Whether these principles are real or not, the fact is that positivity and faith are requirements to my own well being.

I can do better. I’m going to work on this.

2 Responses to “Karma, Positivity and all that Fun Stuff”


  1. 1 Janet June 13, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    Poor Dolittle. I went through that too. (Don’t tell her, but I’m still waiting for the Karma for a couple of them.)

    This was a very enlightening post. I have tried for many years to become more positive but I never thought about it in quite that way.

    And now, to be totally frivolous, I sort of hope that works, because if so Viggo should be knocking on the door at any moment. 😉


  1. 1 Another Monday « Old Blue Socks Trackback on June 23, 2008 at 6:53 am

Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

