Cat on a Wet Wood Deck

At some point on the weekend a cat showed up on our deck.  It was cute, friendly, and (we guessed) in all likelihood belonged to a neighbour and would venture off on its way home again. 

It hasn’t.

Each morning kitty can be found crying at our door to get in as if it lived here.  It is making me crazy.

Yesterday, when I let the dog out to do his business, I watched from the door as the cat tried to prevent the dog from coming back on the deck to get back in.  He would go to the steps and she would jump over, back arched, and hiss.  He would go to the other entrance and she would run over and do the same thing. How forward is that?  The dog actually does live here. Finally, in frustration and probably to my neighbours great amusement, I ran outside in my scruffy sleep clothes, yelling “Shoo, Shoo, Get, Get” and doing my own interpretation of a cat hiss with a throaty “Kkkkkkkkkk” complete with fingers curled in a menacing manner.  I continued doing this, chasing the cat out of the yard, knowing full well it would be back eventually.  And it was.

Can you imagine being like that cat in real life?  …Just deciding, hey I want to live there, or work there, or do that, and planting yourself at the door like its your G*d given right.  What if, for example, I were to walk into a Human Resources department of some fabulous employer and say, “I’ve decided to work here, and I’ve come to do the paperwork,” and then chase some other employee out of the office with a hiss and a snarl.  Would that work? 

Yeah, It’s not working for Cat either.

3 Responses to “Cat on a Wet Wood Deck”


  1. 1 LSM May 28, 2008 at 11:57 am

    But I really like that idea. Why don’t you try it and see how it works? 🙂

  2. 2 Janet May 28, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Actually I’ve known people like that. It does work sometimes, but no one likes them. Usually it’s nepotism, but sometimes it results from human resource personnel with no gumption.

  3. 3 Lauri May 29, 2008 at 9:17 am

    What an odd thing for the cat to do. And very brave/stupid to chase off dogs. Hope you find it’s owner.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

