May

May is shaping up to be busy, with loads on the kids’ calendars, and a variety of tests I need to take for jobs I’ll never get. And goodness knows what will be added to the plate as the month goes on. I need a nap just thinking about it. Of course, usually a busy life means there is something to blog about.

I had this small object that I have been carrying around in my purse for years. While I have had plenty of opportunity to use it in some capaicty, I suppose, I have been saving it, because I might really need it for its intended purpose some day.

And last night I was sitting beside a woman who, by coincidence, revealed in a conversation that she needed just this thing, for just its purpose. Things had not gone her way recently, and her resources were tapped. I had the capacity to help her in a very small way if I just reached down and pulled out my handbag. So it was really a no brainer.

As I passed her the object, she was of course surprised. “I can’t take that!” she said.

“I’ve had it in my purse since Jesus wore sandals,” I told her. “I want you to have it.”

She took it, put it in her pocket, and told me her birthday is Saturday.

The entire brief exchange has lightened my heart in a number of ways. Yes, of course it feels good to do something for someone, but it’s more than that. It’s that we are on this path where chance encounters can have meaning. It’s the fact that sometimes it takes a very long time for something to have direction or purpose. It’s renewed hope.

I may be short one object, but I seem to be ahead in many more ways. …Maybe May will bring something wonderful after all.

4 Responses to “May”


  1. 1 Samantha May 2, 2008 at 8:21 am

    What a wonderful story, it has made my day seem brighter somehow, knowing that we are on a certain path and that there is a reason for everything. You really got me thinking now.

  2. 2 tpgoddess0103 May 2, 2008 at 9:22 am

    You just have to keep your eyes, ears, and heart open. It’s all out there. Happy May!

  3. 3 Lauri May 3, 2008 at 10:27 am

    I’m so curious about the object! Cool story.

  4. 4 Janet May 5, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    That’s a wonderful story. I hope the rest of your May is just as rewarding!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

