Dear Webkinz World Creators

I have, for some time, felt quite comfortable with my children visiting your site. It is a safe place with its cuddly inhabitants and pre-selected menu of available messages. I have not worried that they would find internet dangers there. I have, however, noticed a couple of things that have me pondering what on earth you may have been thinking when you included these within this safe, comfortable, kid-friendly zone.

First, let’s talk about the “Wishing Well”…

webkinz_slotmachine21.jpg


“Wishing Well” is apparently a warm, fuzzy name for “Slot Machine.” ‘Nuf said.

Now, let’s talk about Arte. See the tip can?

arte_takes_bribes2.jpg

I’ve just found out that apparently Arte gives better service with a healthy stream of tips and purchases. As true to life as that might be, tips generally come after a service. “Tips” in Webkinz World is apparently a warm, fuzzy name for “Bribes.”

So I guess I’m wondering if this is your way of marketing to grownups? Kind of like the darker humour that is in kids’ movies that they never seem to get? I’m also wondering if I signup for Webkinz World and tell you I’m an adult can my Webkinz and I have strawberry daiquiris when I play the Wishing Well?

“Adult Beverage” in Sock World is a warm, fuzzy name for “Adult Beverage.” It’s less confusing that way.

4 Responses to “Dear Webkinz World Creators”


  1. 1 ramblingmom April 2, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Hold on a sec — it’s not enough that I spend a small fortune on Webkinz, Webkinz trading cards, and Webkinz clothing. But I have to tip Arte to boot!!!

  2. 2 Calvin April 2, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Right on Sister! I have often questioned the things. Also, have you noticed that the prices at Arte’s shop are not alway less than you find at the W Shop? My boys have learned the fine art of comparison shopping. Perhaps we just do not tip Arte well enough?

  3. 3 Janet April 3, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Good grief. My niece is apparently into Webkinz (surprising, given the fundamentalist Christian household she lives in). I may have to warn the grownups. Or not. Maybe a bit of reality would be good for her. Maybe they’ll be passe by the time my kids hear about them.

  4. 4 Sock Girl April 3, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Oh good heavens!!! This wasn’t an alert to pull your kids off Webkinz… I still think that the site is a safe on-line place for kids. I mean when the pre-selected conversations are of the have-a-nice-day, so-glad-we’re-friends, nice-shoes variety, how bad can it really be. I just think some of the choices in content are a tad odd given that it’s a kid’s site. Somebody in programming may have been hitting the adult beverages themselves!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

