Sleepless in Sockville

Last night I had insomnia.  Isn’t it funny how you can be up all night and manage to feel more rushed in the morning than if you had fewer hours to work with? 

 Anyway, I needed to get the kids dropped off at school and was not finished getting myself ready for work, so I decided to run them over and just come back home to finish up.  So out I go with my wet hair, and no makeup, and basically looking like I had just crawled out from under a rock. 

 The girls use different doors, being in different grades.  So first I let Dolittle out.  Then I drove a smidge further and got out to open Rainbow’s door.  But there was ice.  And soon my under-a-rock-looking self was sprawled all over the pavement for the world to see in a none too graceful heap.

Two hours later they closed the schools because of the freezing rain warning.  The fact that Environment Canada has been issuing warnings for days was apparently not clue enough that kids were perhaps safer at home.  Parents too apparently.

And now I’m developing a small lump on my wrist and searing pain… surprising pain really, considering how small the darn thing is.  Loads more painful even than the blow to the dignity suffered in the initial incident.  I can barely type.  I’m thinking I must have done something to attempt to break my fall and instead just rendered my hand less effective.

But with any luck at all, something for pain will bring ellusive sleep.

2 Responses to “Sleepless in Sockville”


  1. 1 Janet March 6, 2008 at 11:49 am

    oh dear – Hopefully it’s nothing serious.

  2. 2 Lauri March 6, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    I hate to mention this – but you might want to have an x-ray. I fell on my wrist roller skating about 8 years ago. It hurt more than a fall should and only swelled in one little place. The nurse told me that if it’s a localizing swelling – like a lump – that can be a sign of a fracture.

    Anyway – hope it’s not a break and that it’s all better by now!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

