Bad hair

Earlier this week I got my hair cut.  I’ve gone from one length to layers.  Rainbow advised against it.  She poured over magazines in the hair salon with me and suggested various long cuts.  In the end, I did what I wanted and got it layered, the longest layer being to my shoulders.

 It was not my brightest move.  Left to its own devices, my hair is more poodle-like than the long shining manes of hair magazine models.  While one length, at least it had a bit of weight going for it.  Now, it seems a constant battle.

 Yesterday morning I was getting ready for work, battling again with my new doo, when Rainbow came into my room and said in a tone that meant something very serious was afoot, “Mom, I think we have to have a talk about your hair.”

“OK,” I said, frantically trying to flat iron the waves away.

“I told you so.” She paused for a minute to watch me fight with a section at the front.

“You look like a rock star,” she mused.  Then added… “and that is never good.” (presumably to ensure I was clear that this was in no way a compliment).

I have the feeling it’s going to be a few months of bad hair days. 

2 Responses to “Bad hair”


  1. 1 Mimi February 18, 2008 at 4:31 am

    OK my dear, here’s what you do. Go buy this: http://www.tresemme.com/heat/how-it-works/straight.aspx, both products, and use them like the diagram shows. You will have gorgeous, straight, shiny hair. I promise. These products are not that expensive, which is great. If you cannot get them where you live, tell me and I will send them to you. Viva the good hair days! 🙂

  2. 2 Janet February 18, 2008 at 9:49 am

    I haven’t had good hair in a few months, er, years. I have a bad habit of cutting it myself. I used to cut bangs. Then I got it cut really short right before William was born. Layered short. Think David Cassidy on the Partridge Family. Took 2 years to recover from that. Although if it makes you feel any better, I’m playing a dog in a play this weekend, and I have to put my hair into two ponytails on top of my head complete with those fluffy kids’ hairbands to make “ears.” Don’t worry, I’ll post pictures.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

