Spinning Productively

I have had an inner ear virus for days. Essentially this has meant that I have been off balanced and dizzy, and the mere act of walking gave me motion sickness. It has been a lot like being drunk without the happy. Thankfully, things seem to be improving.

One thing I tried this weekend to occupy the girls while I was spinning about the place, was to bake bread from scratch for the very first time. I had read somewhere that the more you knead the stuff, the better, so what more productive way than to give each girl a good long turn wacking the daylights out of a giant fragrant lump of play doh. The end result was this…

Now, I admit, for those who might be opposed to finding dough about the kitchen for the next few days this project may not be ideal. And if seeing your kid up to their elbows in gluten makes you weak in the knees, this is probably not for you. But if you need a project that takes all day but leaves spaces for tiny spells of down time and gives you something yummy in the end, you might want to give this a try.

2 Responses to “Spinning Productively”


  1. 1 mimi January 23, 2008 at 10:47 am

    I love baking bread with my kids! And the kneading… so very therapeutic. 🙂 Plus, you can’t beat how great the house smells when it’s done baking. Yum!

  2. 2 Countess January 25, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Oh I can smell the bread from here. It’s been years since I made bread from scratch, and I look forward to doing it again.

    Hope your ear gets better. I have something similar. I’ve had a cold for a week and last night my ear plugged up and hasn’t unplugged yet. I feel like I’m in a tunnel.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

