2 Years of Socks

Yesterday was my second Blogiversary!!! 332 posts in two years and lots of blog friends later, here I am.

So I was thinking about my first blog post two years ago, and I realized that I do not, in fact, ever actually talk about point #3 in a literal sense… ie, I never actually discuss socks and laundry (though domestic life does come up). So here it is… I really do marvel at how socks disappear. I have an honest to goodness issue with it. And here is the proof…

I do laundry nearly every freaking day (presuming my machines work and they don’t always). And nearly every single time a load comes out of the dryer, at least one pair of socks will have become a single sock. So, I put the single sock in my “single sock” bag, intended to be the holding place until the other sock appears… ya’ just never know if it never made it out of the hamper or got into a different load. But it doesn’t always work that way:

Behold! My “collection” of single socks where the mate never ever materialized. How crazy is that? Care to give theories on what happens to them?

– Is that what my alien neighbours have buried under their “headstone” lawn ornaments (don’t ask);

– Is there a sock party going on somewhere behind the dryer?

– Did they just disintegrate from over use or stinky feet?

Got any other ideas?

7 Responses to “2 Years of Socks”


  1. 1 Christina January 18, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Wow – that IS a lot! Mine do get stuck sometimes between the ridges of the dryer and the dryer wall – terrible description but I’ve occasionally noticed a dangling sock stuck in there. Also under sofa cushions and beds and various household furniture as the socks are stripped off and just dropped in place then kicked around. And yes, behind the dryer sometimes too. Or between the washer and dryer.
    Either all of the above or else they simply bailed out and are all having a party somewhere.

  2. 2 Rambling Mom January 18, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I think I have the match to that pink one over there.

  3. 3 crayonvirtuoso January 18, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Ummm, at my house it’s because son #2 constantly wears mismatched pairs. So at my house that’s not an actual problem 🙂

  4. 4 Calvin January 18, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Look for the missing socks in the hose-zone!

  5. 5 LSM January 18, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    Oooh! I have a similar collection. In fact, I need to make an effort to pair them up some time soon. Happy blogiversary!

  6. 6 Anonymous January 19, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Heck, that’s nothing! I have two laundry baskets full of unmatched socks. One for DH and me and one for the kids. I’ve recently learned to separate out E’s socks into his own little basket. Um…yeah, so I have three baskets of unmatched socks. Tragic.

  7. 7 Alto2 January 21, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    We call those singletons “orphans” around here. We store them in WT’s orphan sock drawer. Occasionally we audit that drawer with his and Moose’s socks and “create” a pair or two. I think the socks all flee up the dryer vent.

    Happy Blogiversary to my mentor! Keep writing.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

