A Kicking Time Was Had By All

Family night of taekwondo was a lot of fun. Mostly.

During the course of the evening I discovered two things:

~ that I’m not as flexible as I once was. Age and inactivity have taken their toll, I suppose.

~ that certain stretches can give me a muscle spasm where my rib cage meets, round about the area of the solar plexus. Just about here…

But as I was scrunching up my face trying to figure out what on earth to do about stretching properly when there was a screamingly painful knot between my ribs, Rainbow was good enough to remind me “This is for your own good, you know.” She’s nice like that.

In the end the it seemed all the families had a great time… we wary first time adult kickers and our slightly more experienced kiddies. As we left Rainbow asked, “do we really have to wait seven days to do this again?” And I sort of felt the same way.

2 Responses to “A Kicking Time Was Had By All”


  1. 1 LSM January 10, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    It sounds like you had a great time! Adventure Guy says the best shape he was ever in was when he was doing martial arts on a regular basis. Um…that still didn’t motivate me enough to try it myself. 🙂

  2. 2 Robin January 10, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    LOL! It sounds like great fun except for that muscle spasm. I get them in that area too. Ouch!

    I think you’re very brave to have given this a try. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

