On Your Mark, Get Set…

There is no question it is time I got moving. I have perfected not-exercising to an art. Coincidentally, two things are about to happen…

1. The 8-week office step challenge begins on Monday. Our office is highly competitive, having lost out of winning on the final week in last year’s competition. And for some reason I have been relegated to team nag captain to keep track of everyone’s steps, etc. That in itself is motivation to keep my numbers up even before adding the incentive of kicking the butts of last year’s winners.

2. Almost by magic, the kids dojang is doing a family taekwondo class starting this week as a 10-week trial to see if there is any interest. The kids think I should try this. Now, despite the fact that this seems perfect timing for someone who is about to get more active, it does present a couple of dilemmas if I decide to attempt this….

– First, my children are now a higher belt than I would be. This probably means I will have to kick around the living room when they go to sleep to save face (Husband and Dog are herein forwarned to remove themselves from the area).

– Second, I do not currently own any suitable workout attire. Why would I… I don’t actually work out? I am not paid until the end of the week and the first class is this evening, so buying something isn’t possible. Dolittle has suggested I just wear her clothes and pretend they are capris. I’m not sure about that though.

– Third, I had this dream that I could not, for the life of me, do a Bichagi (45 degree angle kick to midsection). I told the kids that this morning…
Dolittle: I know you can do that, Mom. I’ve seen you do one in slow motion.
Me: I don’t recall that. (…though it does sound like something I would do.)
Dolittle: And you have to remember to yell when you kick.
Me: I don’t think I can do that.
Dolittle: Well I KNOW I’ve heard you yell.

So, it should be an interesting couple of months.
Anyone care to strap on a pedometer and count steps too?

2 Responses to “On Your Mark, Get Set…”


  1. 1 Christina January 9, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    You could always blend your step goals with my Move ’08 challenge 🙂 I should get a pedometer – I’ll add it to my workout gear wish list that SP is trying to take care of for me as a birthday present. He’s getting me new walking shoes this weekend.

    Giggle – so, really..the girls have heard you yell? 😉 Guess you just need to blend that in with the proper moves. Good luck!

  2. 2 Countess January 15, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    I DEFINITELY need to be counting steps, and taking more of them. Way too many Christmas goodies.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

