I don’t know which was in worse shape — me or my car

So yesterday was they day we planned to buy new tires. I would get dropped off at work and hubby would go do whatever gets done in a tire store. We dropped the kids off at school, and did a quick drive thru coffee grab before dropping me at work, and then the vehicle just died, right there on the Avenue, about 20 feet before the lights in front of my work. Lovely.

So I go in and call a tow truck.

Subsequent diagnosis: Battery, timing belt, and water pump, shot to heck. Lovely.

There are two things, in all of this, however, that keep me quite thankful….

First, it could have happened in the drive thru as I had just been there seconds before. Dear G*d the stress, if it had happened there, with no way forward or backward, just clogging up the lines anxious for their Tim’s caffeine fix would have just been too much.

Second, it could have happened AFTER I had bought tires, in which case there would have been no money to deal with the repairs.

So, to relieve my stinging wallet, I am trying to focus on the fact that things could have been worse.

I have also come to the realization, with the amount of walking I’ve done in the last 24 hours, that I am in really bad shape. My legs feel like noodles and I’ve been ready for a nap since… well… since the nap I actually had. How sad is that?

1 Response to “I don’t know which was in worse shape — me or my car”


  1. 1 Alto2 November 18, 2007 at 6:02 am

    Sorry to hear about your car. Mine died about 2 weeks ago, in the driveway at school. Fortunately, peopel could still get around me. The security guy jump-started my car, and I went on my way. A few days later, DH’s car blew a tire, so I had to spend half the day getting him new tires. Cars, bleh.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

