On the 48th Day of Christmas

I went to the pharmacy last night to get something for the tummy issues. Rainbow and Dolittle went with me. Rainbow came over to me excitedly and told me that she wanted to do her Christmas shopping for me right that very minute because the perfect thing was right there, in another aisle. And could she please have four dollars and fifty bucks (translation $4.50).

Who am I to stand in the way of gift buying. Especially if it is for me. Even if it is with my own money.

So I coughed up four dollars and fifty bucks and busied myself while Rainbow and the store clerk worked out the details of boxing and bagging the treasure so I would not see it.

Rainbow dug out some wrapping paper and ribbon, and carefully wrapped and taped, and ribboned, and taped some more. Let no edge go unsealed. One, apparently, can never use too much tape.

And now the countdown is on. Oh how she is dying to gift me with this treasure. There was even suggestion of putting up the tree.

It’s gonna be a long 48 days.

5 Responses to “On the 48th Day of Christmas”


  1. 1 Calvin November 8, 2007 at 4:08 am

    Adorable! Don’t let her tell you!

  2. 2 Rambling Mom November 8, 2007 at 5:57 am

    I can’t WAIT.

  3. 3 Mom of 4K November 8, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Oh how sweet, I wish I could say my holiday shopping were begun.

  4. 4 Janet November 8, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    She is so sweet!! I bought some things in January and it’s amazing I still remember that I did that. I’m so much a little kid at Christmas, and it’s been so much fun to have kids so I have an excuse to do all the fun stuff. I’m ready to decorate now. The worst day of the year has always been the day the decorations come now. (And that day gets later and later every year . . .)

  5. 5 Christina November 9, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    Very cute. I expect you will have to open that one first!

    Janet – other than the buying gifts in January thing, I am with you 100%. The dishes are barely done from t-day dinner when the boxes come out. My birthday is Jan 3 and there is NO WAY the decorations come down before that 🙂


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

