Mystery Treat

Thank you to those who took guesses at which of my kids Halloween treats is illegal where we live.

The correct answer is in fact “canned pop.” At the current point in time (and as has been the case for many many years) it is illegal to have a carbonated beverage in a can in Prince Edward Island. Beer. Pop. If it bubbles, it must be bottled, not canned. In recent years there have been steps to change this law, but it has not yet happened.

I guess the bigger question should have been, what should my reaction have been when I saw the woman give my children something which I am perfectly aware is illegal, even if it makes no sense that it is. Should I have:

a) said, “Oh Honey, lets phone the police and have this bad law-breaking woman arrested.
b) should I have wagged my finger in the woman’s face and made a scene to ensure that my children got the message that any breaking of the law would not be tolerated.
c) should I have pretended I hadn’t noticed and thought to myself, “cool… the kids don’t actually like bubbly drinks, so there’s a treat for me.”

Yeah… guess which one I did.
Bad mommy. Very bad mommy.

7 Responses to “Mystery Treat”


  1. 1 Alto2 November 5, 2007 at 4:15 am

    I won’t tell a soul. Did you enjoy every last drop?

  2. 2 Lauri November 5, 2007 at 5:10 am

    And why is it illegal?

  3. 3 Rambling Mom November 5, 2007 at 5:54 am

    Yeah honey — we’ll all get on you for breaking the law.

    I’ll be sure to — just as soon as I start obeying the speed limit :}

  4. 4 Janet November 5, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    No tattling here, but you can have the Pepsi. I’m a proper Southern girl and I drink Coke. (Actually, in the South, it’s all a Coke. Diet, Sprite, Dr. Pepper, the standard question is “Do you want a coke?” It’s funny and sad the things that lawmakers think are important.

  5. 5 Robin November 5, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    I was voting for C. I suppose that makes me a bad mommy (or grandmommy), too.

  6. 6 MLL November 5, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    What’s really weird is someone handing out soda for Halloween….that sounds like someone who has run out of candy and is desperately going through their cupboards trying to find something/anything to hand out. I’ve been there—-“Here kid, have a can of tuna” 🙂 It is weird that its illegal though!

  7. 7 Calvin November 6, 2007 at 3:17 am

    I have a six pack of the contraband in the cooler in my car! Luckily it is not unlawful where I live. So why is is illegal there?


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

