Sleeping Like A Hamster

Rainbow saved up her money to buy her hamster a car. It was a tiny yellow car somewhat resembling a narrow Volkswagen.

Carefully, she placed her hamster in the car. Despite the fact that he was backwards, I have to admit he was cute.

Then it happened…

The car accidentally dropped from her hands, with the hamster still inside. She screamed “He’s dead!” She lifted the still hamster from the car, his limp legs out to the sides. Sobbing, he passed him into the shirt I was folding.

I looked down at Smokey. He was still breathing, but other than that showing no real sign of the lively critter he typically was. Nothing else moved. Not a whisker.

I held him in the shirt for some time. Rainbow could not be consoled. I placed him back in his cage and offered her the comfort I could.

Smokey has been “sleeping” for the better part of two days now. Personally, I think he’s in some kind of a hamster coma.

He seems to be breathing normally, and his sleeping position has changed. And I’m really not sure what to do for a hamster in a coma. I never touch him or talk to him… and doing so now may just be too much of a shock to the poor little guy. I just keep peeking in his cage, hoping to find a party going on inside.

But for now, hamster hibernation continues.

4 Responses to “Sleeping Like A Hamster”


  1. 1 BunnyBubblette September 30, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    How’s he doing today? You don’t have very good luck with hamsters.

  2. 2 Janet October 2, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    Any change? Please offer my condolences to Rainbow – I have had many pets over the years and it’s always heartbreaking when something happens to them. I’ve never had hamsters so I can’t offer any advice on hamster comas. Hopefully he really is just hibernating and will come to himself soon.

  3. 3 Alto2 October 2, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    What’s the latest on the rodent?

  4. 4 MLL October 3, 2007 at 12:24 am

    I keep checking in to see if Smokey woke up or you pulled the plug…..


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

